3rd BSCP National Pool Championship Offers Four Slots in World Ten Ball Championship

The biggest and richest billiard event in the Philippines --- the 3rd Billiards and Snooker Congress of the Philippines (BSCP) National Pool Championship will be held on August 26 to 31 at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Malate, Manila.

Not only dangling attractive prize money but four slots in the inaugural World Ten Ball Championship on September are up for grabs in this five-day event organized by the BSCP in close cooperation with Raya Sports, Star Billiard Center and the Philippine Billiards Development Foundation (PBDF).

Antonio "Ga-Ga" Gabica and Taiwanese Chia-Ching Wu already booked their seats in the World Ten Ball after topping the Philippine Pool Tour---Mandaluyong and Puerto Princesa leg, respectively.

Gabica will mix with Marlon Manalo, the 2005 World Pool Championship 3rd placer, Jeffrey De Luna, the 2007 Manny Pacquiao International 9-Ball Champion and youthful Jericho Bañares, the reigning Philippine Junior Champion as they chase the P400,000 winner's purse. Prize money until the 32nd placer will be given out in the event which is open to all Filipino players.

Other notable players who will be vying for the national title are former 1991 Manila Southeast Asian Games five-gold medalist Leonardo "The Rattle Snake" Andam, Fidel Punzalan, Leonardo "Dodong" Didal, founding BSCP president Edgar "Malabon" Acaba, Mario "Aklan" Tolentino, Elvis Calasang, Luis Saberdo, James Al Ortega, Alex Nobleza, Raymond Faraon and Mindoro child prodigy 14-year-old Jonas Magpantay, among others.Registration fee is P1,000. For details, please contact 0910-887-5216, 0928-744-1740, or visit Raya Office in Makati City or Star Paper Billiards Center in Grace Village, Quezon City for complete details. Alex "The Lion" Pagulayan and and Lee Vann "The Slayer" Corteza are the 1st and 2nd BSCP National Pool Championships winner, in order.