Alan Birkett wins All American Tour Stop 18

Alan Birkett

The eighteenth stop of the 2005/2006 McDermott All American Tour (produced by the American CueSports Alliance - ACS) featured a $500-added purse and forty-two players (including three women) hosted by owner Terry Anderson at Miller Time Billiards in Davenport, Iowa, on Saturday, March 18. The event featured double-elimination 8-ball on 7-foot Valley bar boxes. Alan Birkett of Clinton, Iowa - rated a '5' on a regional handicap system used - marched undefeated through the winner's bracket, defeating Doug Putz [4] (Bettendorf, IA) in the winner's bracket semi-finals 5-2 and Jim Hanne [5] (Moline, IL) in the winner's bracket finals 5-4. On the B-side, Anthony Garcia [4] (E. Moline, IL) eliminated Rich Bideaux [5] (E. Moline, IL) 4-3 in the semifinals, and - in turn - was eliminated himself by Jim Hanne 5-3 in the finals, thus earning Hanne a title shot at Alan Birkett. Birkett kept his perfect record intact by a 5-2 margin over Jim Hanne in the title match

By virtue of being the highest-finishing ACS member, Alan Birkett won a free entry into either the 2006 ACS National 8-Ball Championships or the 2006 ACS National 9-Ball Championships - courtesy of the ACS. The ACS wishes to thank sponsors McDermott Handcrafted Cues, Silver Cup Chalk, PJ's Billiard Supply Co. and Samm's Side Pocket Productions for their support in donating 'Value-In-Kind' product for this and all stops on the McDermott All American Tour. Sponsorship opportunities are still available by contacting the ACS.

April 8-9 will feature Yogee's in Roseburg, OR, hosting a $1,000 added 9-ball McDermott All American tour stop (for onsite entry details contact Mike Cronk at 541-643-4382) - open to 48 entries. Information and schedules for the 2005/2006 McDermott All American Tour are available at The ACS is a non-profit, national organization dedicated to heightening the interest and awareness of cue sports through the support and sanctioning of organized competition throughout the United States and North America.

Final Results:
1st Alan Birkett (Clinton, IA) $300 + free ACS Nationals entry
2nd Jim Hanne (Moline, IL) $200
3rd Anthont Garcia (E. Moline, IL) $150
4th Rich Bideaux (E. Moline, IL) $100
5-6th Steve Lange (Davenport, IA) $80
Doug Putz (Bettendorf, IA)
7-8th Russ Jett (Davenport, IA) $50
Mark Czerwinski (Moline, IL)
9-12th Brad Fenchel (Moline, IL) $30
Tony Wilson (Moline, IL)
Bob Huskey (Silvis, IL)
Heidi Frank (E. Moline, IL)