Alcaide, Kjoersvik and Dinsmore win Gold

Portoroz, Slovenia: The Dynamic Billard European 8-ball Champions 2013 are David Alcaide (ESP), Line Kjoersvik (NOR) and Fred Dinsmore (IRL).

Alcaide terminated young Jim Chawki (SWE) with 8:4. Both players performed on a high level but it could be seen that Alcaide had much more experience on his side. Chawki played a great semi-final. He even managed to get a 3:1 lead over Alcaide. But then the tide turned in the match. Alcaide played much stronger and ran out 4 of his first 5 racks. That might have impressed Chawki. The Swede also scratched on his break shot two consecutive times in the 10th and 12th rack which probably broke his neck in this final match. Alcaide punished his mistakes and jumped up when he pocketed the 8-ball to win the match with 8:4.

In the women's final, Kjoersvik showed no mercy with Marika Poikkijoki (FIN). Again, the Finish player could not win the event after eliminating Jasmin Ouschan out of the tournament. Maybe she had lost too much energy in the semi-final. Kjoersvik simply played stringer and deserved the victory with 6:1.

In the wheelchair division, all odd were on World Champion Henrik Larsson (SWE). But Dinsmore had other plans. He got an early lead with 3:1 and protected that until the end of the match.

The 8-Ball Finals
David Alcaide (ESP) v Jim Chawki 8:4
Line Kjoersvik (NOR) v Marika Poikkijoki (FIN) 6:1
Fred Dinsmore (IRL) v Henrik Larsson (SWE) 5:3

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website or contact our press office.