Andy Mercer Memorial Final 16

Shane Van Boening

After day a long day of play at the 19th annual Andy Mercer Memorial at the Rum Runner in Las Vegas it was down to the final 16 players.

Six local Las Vegas players were still in, 2 on the winner's side (new transplant Jim Blakeman and Fred Boggs) and 4 in the loser's bracket (Joe Alvarez, Justin Whitehead, Max Eberle, and Rocky Phipps).

Early upsets included Ismael Paez who has won this event three times previously and Brian Parks who won the event last year. Other early eliminations were Walter Glass, Tinsley Johnson, and  Mark Haddad.

Winner's side brackets started play Sunday at noon with the line up as follows: Jim Blakeman vs. Sal Butera, Fred Boggs vs. Darren Appleton, Danny Patrolba vs. Shane Van Boening, Billy Palmer vs. Jerry Decker.

Immediately after those matches, the B side will continue play with these matches: Joe Alvarez vs. Justin Whitehead, Bernardo Chavez  vs. Thomas Butler, Max Eberle vs. Chad Vilmont, Rocky Phipps vs. Sean Lane