APA National Championships Feature Record Crowds And Payouts

LAKE SAINT LOUIS, MO (September 7, 2006) — The American Poolplayers Association's (APA) 26th Annual National Team Championships saw a record number of teams compete in this year's 9-day extravaganza. More than 1,500 8-Ball, 9-Ball, Doubles and Masters teams made the trek to Sin City to compete, Aug. 18 – 26, for more than $1 Million in prize money.

In the 8-Ball Open Division, Bankers and Snookers of Topeka, Kansas, defeated Let Me At ‘Em of Gretna, La., 3-1 in the finals to take home $25,000 in cash and the championship title. In addition to their 1st Place prize money, Bankers and Snookers received a team trophy, individual team plaques and a bottle of commemorative champagne to help celebrate the victory.

As Runner-Up, Let Me At ‘Em received $15,000 in prize money, a team trophy and individual team plaques. Finishing in 3rd Place was AMVet's of Frederick, Md., and Benny's Ice House of Boynton Beach, Fla.; they each received $7,500 in prize money. In a three-way tie for 5th Place were A.J.'s Scrubs of Maryville, Tenn., Die Hards of Abbeville, La., and the Scorpions of Oklahoma City; each team received $5,500 for finishing tied for 5th Place.

In the finals of the Ladies 8-Ball Division, it was Fire House Saloon of Morton, Ill., defeating Sherry's Diva's of Terrytown, La., 3-1 to win $10,000 in 1st Place prize money.

In addition to the prize money, Fire House Saloon also received a team trophy, individual team plaques and commemorative champagne. As Runner-Up, Sherry's Divas received $5,000 in cash, a team trophy and individual team plaques.

Fire House Saloon advanced to the finals with a victory over WRKITOUT of Grand Rapids, Mich., in the semifinals. Sherry's Divas defeated Don't Worry Be Happy of Raleigh, N.C., in the semifinals to advance. Both WRKITOUT and Don't Worry Be Happy each took home $2,500 for their 3rd Place finishes.

In a tie for 5th Place were Pocket's Bad Girls of New Castle, Del., The Elite 8 of Baton Rouge, La., Sharkettes of W. Tawakoni, Texas, and Pixie Sticks of Indianapolis. Each 5th Place team received $1,000 in prize money.

All teams in the 8-Ball Championships squared off in a modified single elimination format that ensured each team played at least twice before elimination. All 8-Ball Open Division teams automatically received $350 in national qualifier money, and the top 8 teams won at least $5,000. In the 8-Ball Ladies Division, all teams automatically earned $350 national qualifier money, with the top 8 teams winning at least $1,000. The Open Division began play on Aug. 21 and concluded on Aug. 26. The Ladies Division of the tournament started on Aug. 18 and concluded on Aug. 20.

In Open 9-Ball National Championship action, it was 7 Gods and a Frog of Lowell, Mass., beating Eagle Eyes of Portland, Maine, in the finals 51-29. 7 Gods and a Frog took home $15,000 of the more than $175,000 guaranteed purse. As Runner-Up, Eagle Eyes received $7,000 in cash, a team trophy and individual team plaques.

Two teams were disqualified from the event following the semifinal round due to significant skill level movement; therefore the 3rd Place prize money is distributed amongst the teams that were previously eliminated by those two teams. In addition, all eliminated teams are reviewed for consideration of an invite back to compete in the 2007 event.

Finishing in 5th Place were Yeah That's Right of Rockdale, Ill., 8 or 9 R Us of Portland, Oregon, The Drunken Masters of Jacksonville, Fla., and WESHURSCRATCHENUFF of East Rutherford, N.J. Each 5th Place team received $2,000 in prize money.

The Open 9-Ball National Championship was held Aug. 19-22, with each team competing in a modified single elimination format that ensured each team played at least twice before elimination. All national qualifiers received a minimum of $350, with the top 8 teams winning at least $2,000.

After winning their divisions in weekly APA 8-Ball and 9-Ball League play and then placing in Local Team Championships throughout the United States and Canada, 676 Open 8-Ball, 303 Open 9-Ball, and 56 Ladies 8-Ball teams, all consisting of five to eight players, qualified to compete in the 2006 National Team Championships.

In the Open 8-Ball Doubles Championship, it was Back Again, Paul Weber and Jared Boothe of McComb, Miss., defending their 2005 title and winning $5,000 in the finals with a victory over Lucky Draw, Chris Frazao and Ricky Seak of Hamden, Conn. Lucky Draw received $3,000 as Runner-Up in the 256-team event.

The finals of the Masters Championship event featured Play 2 Win, Johnny Griffin, Jimmy Faircloth and Robert Ray of Raleigh, N.C., defeating the Dream Team, Kenneth Brisbon, Jason Kirkwood and Richard Schmiegel Jr. of Oxford, Mich. Play 2 Win took home $7,500 in 1st Place prize money, while the Dream Team received $3,300 as Runner-Up in the 128-team event.

In the Open 9-Ball Doubles Championship, the Crazy Girls, Laura Walnofer and Debra Miller of Colorado Springs defeated the Men from Massachusetts, Jon James Jr. and Michael Harrington of N. Chelmsford, Mass. The Crazy Girls took home a 1st Place prize of $4,000 and a trophy, while the Men from Massachusetts walked away with $2,000 in prize money.

Charlie Hans of Cincinnati, Ohio, defeated Andrew Niebrugge of Raleigh, N.C., for $1,500 in the finals of the APA Wheelchair Challenge.

In addition, the APA conducted nearly 600 MiniMania tournaments, which took place daily and were open to all APA members. The MiniMania tournaments offered multiple formats with 100% prize money payback that awarded more than $200,000.

The APA National Team Championships were played on Valley Tables, complete with Valley Ultra Teflon cloth and Super Aramith billiard balls.

The APA, based in Lake Saint Louis, Mo., sanctions the world's largest amateur pool league, known as the APA Pool League throughout the United States, and as the CPA Pool League in Canada. Nearly 260,000 members compete in weekly 8-Ball and 9 Ball league play. The APA is generally recognized as the Governing Body of Amateur Pool, having established the official rules, championships, formats and handicap systems for the sport of amateur billiards.

The APA produces three major tournament events each year—the APA National Team Championships, the APA National Singles Championships and the U.S. Amateur Championship—that, together, pay out more than $1.2 Million in cash and prizes annually!

The National Team Championships are sponsored by Cuetec Cues, Aramith Billiard Balls, Valley Teflon Ultra Cloth by Championship and Valley Tables.

For more information on the National Team Championships, visit the official APA Web site at poolplayers.com. or call 1-800-3-RACK-EM.