BCAPL Crowns Southwest Regional Winners

Men’s Open Singles Winner Alex Aroz. Courtesy of Bad Boys Billiard Productions.

Over Labor Day Weekend at the stunning Radisson Fort McDowell Resort Casino in Scottsdale, Arizona the first BCAPL Southwest Regional Championship kicked off to a very promising start with approximately 250 players.

The inaugural $6,000 added BCAPL regional event was open to both BCAPL and USAPL league players and non-league current player members. Bad Boys Billiard Productions provided the 40 Diamond 7' Smart Tables and were the onsite acting tournament directors.

The players participated in the following divisions: beginners coed singles (that was open exclusively to AZ 4-6 rated players only), women's open singles, men's open singles, coed advanced / master singles, women's teams and mixed / men's teams. Although the field was mainly from Arizona players traveled from California, Colorado, Idaho, Texas and New Mexico to name a few states represented. In fact Brenda Shilling who won the Women's Open Singles traveled the farthest, from Minnesota, to play in the event.

In addition to the tournament, 5 time U.S. Open 9-Ball Champion and multi-World Champion Earl “The Pearl” Strickland performed an exhibition and answered questions from the audience. OnTheRail TV (www.ontherailtv.com) live streamed the entire 4 day event. Those who missed the live stream can still view all the action, which was taped, at http://www.ustream.tv/user/ontherail/videos .

Event producer, CueSports International (CSI) also utilized their state of the art online CueSports Tournament System (CTS). To view all of the brackets at the 2010 Southwest Regional in addition to all events which have been used on the CTS visit http://www.ctsondemand.com.


Men's Open Singles:
1st $975 Alex Aroz (AZ)
2nd $700 John Flores (AZ)
3rd $400 Jim Rabatin (AZ)
4th $275 Frank Wellman (AZ)
5th-6th $170 Steve Hansen Sr. (TX) and Burt Balancad (AZ)
7th-8th $125 Peanut Hazelton (TX) and Leroy Ballentine (AZ)
9th-12th $75 Ed Parker (AZ), Scott Willoughby (TX), Ed Scott (AZ) and Travis Kennedy (AZ)
13th-16th $50 Jim Ornelas (CO), Jonathan Rowe (AZ), Junior Flores (AZ), and Shawn Begay (NM)

Women's Open Singles
1st $600 Brenda Shilling (MN)
2nd $400 Tami Hathcock (AZ)
3rd $250 Bianca Lindahl (AZ)
4th $155 Char Alcott (AZ)
5th-6th $100 Cathy Kelley (AZ) and Diana Clayton (AZ)
7th-8th $75 Ebony Kelly (AZ) and Candy Zeleny (ID)
9th-12th $60 Veronica Poore (AZ), Peggy Hurst (AZ), Sherri Helton (AZ), and Leandrea Gaff (AZ)

Coed Advanced / Master Singles
1st $565 Nick Deleon (AZ)
2nd $375 Mitch Ellerman (AZ)
3rd $225 Tony Confalone (AZ)
4th $150 Carlos Avalos (AZ)
5th- 6th $100 Larry Eans (AZ) and Bobby Emmons (AZ)
7th-8th $75 Jerry Stuckart (AZ) and Mark Griffin (NV)

Coed Beginner Singles (AZ 4-6 state rated only / no added to this division)
1st $115 Kevin Arco
2nd $80 Mike Gwinn
3rd $50 Milton David
4th $35 Gary Metoxen
5th-6th $20 Frenchy French and Tony Davis


Men's Mixed Team
1st $1,415 “Tom Ryan's” (members: JR Burkhart, Junior Flores, Dean Martin, Andy Peterson and Bill Vander Weyst)
2nd $850 “No Flash Photography” (members: Alex Aroz, Carlos Avalos, Jason Polk, and Brian Poore)
3rd $600 “Ballers” (members: Chad Barber, Ken Gouso, Jim Money, Jim Rabatin, and Jerry Stuckart)
4th $400 “Kolby's Johnny's” (members: John Bridges, John Halter, Harold Lyons, and Frank Wellman)
5th-6th $250 “The Heat” (members: Jaime Cole, Jonathan Rowe, George Rowe, and Todd Rowitz); “Hot Shots” (members: Don Brandt, Richie Daniels, Milton David, Ken Holgate and Ernie Moreno)
7th-8th $125 “Groggy's” (members: Daniel Haselhorst, Chet Lahti, John Marquis, and Dave Seibert); “Northern Lounge” (members: Burt Balancad, Pat Dicker, Jerry Shearer, Chris Shenker, and Ron Weeks)

Women's Team
1st $1,000 “It's Fate” (members: Debbie Compton, Leandrea Gaff, Cathy Kelley, and Susan Williams)
2nd $600 “Bad AZZ Babes” (members: Sonia Flores, Tami Hathcock, Sophia Morquecho, and Veronia Poore)
3rd $350 “AZ Shooters” (members: Laura Boothroyed, Bianca Lindahl, Staci Silverman and Edwina Tortalita)
4th $150 “Lady Stingers” (members: Terri Johnson-McCauley, Claudia Justus, Ebony Kelly, and Kristie Ortega)