Billiards Idol Topnotchers Vie for Villar Cup Cebu Leg Slots

Jomar De Ocampo

The top 16 players from the inaugural season of the Search for the New Billiards Idol mix it up in a special tournament for the four slots to the main draw of the First Senate President Manny Villar Cup Cebu Leg slated from June 20 to 22 at the Atrium of SM City Cebu in Cebu City .

These up-and-coming cue artists are the ones who accumulated the most number of points in the seven stages of the first major grassroots development project of the Billiards Managers and Players Association of the Philippines (BMPAP) in cooperation with Bugsy Promotions of businessman Perry Mariano, Puyat Sports of Aristeo "Putch" Puyat and Negros Billiards Stable of Jonathan Sy.

The special tournament will be held on Friday at the AMF-Puyat Billards Center in New Farmers Plaza in Cubao, Quezon City .

Leading the field are Jomar de Ocampo and William Millares, who both won a leg and consistently fared well in other stages. The two 20-year-old rising stars have garnered a total of 235 BMPAP ranking points to share to top spot in the Billiards Idol overall ladder.

Joining them in the Qualifier are Panfilo Damuag (215 points), first leg winner Mark Mendoza (215), Leg no.4 champion Benjie Guevarra (210), Leg no.6 titlist Egie Geronimo (185), Manolo Tanasas (180), Leg no.5 winner Russian Petiza (175), Godofredo Ducanes (170), second leg champion Roberto Dy (170), Patrick Gonzales (150), Chris Bombita (145), Joey Pardales (145), Mike Takayama (130), Johann Chua (120) and Renemar David (120).

The top four finishers will join the 20 seeded players and qualifiers from Bacolod (4), Davao (2), Tuguegarao (2), Pangasinan (2) and Cebu (28), along with two foreign players, in vying for the handsome Villar Cup and the P400,000 top purse that goes with it.

Among the seeded players are Efren “Bata” Reyes, Francisco “Django” Bustamante, Alex Pagulayan, Ronnie Alcano, Dennis Orcollo, Roberto Gomez, Gandy Valle, Joven Bustamante, Rodolfo Luat, Lee Van Corteza, and Villar Cup opening leg champion Warren Kiamco.

Also getting an outright slot to the tournament proper for their impressive performance in recent local and international tournaments are Carlo Biado, Jharome Pena, Jundel Mason, Ramil Gallego, Ricky Zerna, Elmer Haya, Rubilen Amit, Mary Ann Basas and Villar Cup Sipag at Tiyaga division titlist Benson Palce.