Collegiate 9-ball Champions Crowned at Indiana University

Michelle Yim (Photo courtesy of Lissette Chaparro)

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Association of College Unions International (ACUI) presented the 72nd collegiate pocket billiards national championship at Indiana University's IMU Back Alley on June 29-July 1, 2012.  ACUI is a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to enhancing campus life.  With 41 men and 23 women registered for 9-ball, 2012 was the largest field in the 75-year history of the ACUI Pocket Billiards program.

Delia Mocanu (Northeastern University) forged through the winners' side of the Women's division like a tiny freight train, winning decisive matches over Angelica Rudow (University of Arizona, 7-0), Melissa Chesky (University of Minnesota-Duluth, 7-3), Heather Platter (University of Florida, 7-2), and Cindy Ho (California State University-Sacramento, 7-5).  She sat comfortably in the hot seat while Michelle Yim (University of Houston) handily defeated Jackie Sanchez (Barry University, 7-0), Morgan Bowles (University of North Carolina-Charlotte, 7-2), Miranda Blazek (Northern Wyoming Community College District, 7-2) before falling to Cindy Ho in the winners' side semi-finals, 7-4.  Yim then bested Jennifer Acierto (Virginia Commonwealth University, 7-5), Platter (7-5), and Ho (7-3) on the One-loss side to face Mocanu in the Sunday morning finals.  In the first set, it seemed that Mocanu couldn't catch a gear, falling to Yim 7-2.  The second set, however, was extremely close, coming down to the final two balls.  Yim jumped out to a 4-2 lead, but eventually Mocanu tied it hill-hill.  In the last game, Mocanu narrowly missed the 7-ball to leave Yim a simple 2-ball run-out for the victory.  

On the Men's side, newcomer Matt Shilinski (University of Maryland-University College) was quiet but confident and steady as he took the hot seat with victories over Mark Muir (University of Illinois, 8-0), Brian Myung (Indiana University, 8-3), George Mansour (University of Akron, 8-3), Mack Harrell (East Carolina University, 8-6), Lee Nathanson (University of Maryland, 8-7), and Bo Jin (Purdue University, 8-6).  Three-time ACUI nationals contestant Charles Barker (Weber State University), meanwhile, won his first three matches with victories over Cody Terry (University of North Carolina-Charlotte, 8-3), Thomas Smith (James Madison University, 8-3), and defending champion Raymond Linares (Miami Dade College-Kendall Campus, 8-6) before falling to Bo Jin (Purdue University, 5-8).  On the one-loss side, Barker topped Harrell (8-3), Stephen Skvarka (Virginia Tech, 8-7), and Jin (8-3) to advance to the finals.  The true double-elimination playoff match was a suspenseful, neck-and-neck race from start to finish.  Shilinski came out on top, 8-7, to take the 2012 title in a single set.

The winners of this year's Sportsmanship awards were:

Jennifer Acierto, Virginia Commonwealth University
Brian Myung, Indiana University

And finally, the 2012 winners of the annual break contest were:

Will Hill, East Texas Baptist University (21)
Amanda Neal, Ivy Tech Community College-Central Indiana (15)

Top 8 complete standings (scholarship money is awarded to the top 4):

Women's Division:
1 Michelle Yim, University of Houston
2 Delia Mocanu, Northeastern University
3 Cindy Ho, California State University - Sacramento
4 Heather Platter, University of Florida
5/6 Jennifer Acierto, Virginia Commonwealth University
5/6 Angelica Rudow, University of Arizona
7/8 Giovanni Aviles, University of Illinois - Chicago
7/8 Amanda Neal, Ivy Tech Community College - Central Indiana
Men's Division:
1 Matt Shilinski, University of Maryland - University College
2 Charles Barker, Weber State University
3 Bo Jin, Purdue University
4 Stephen Skvarka, Virginia Tech
5/6 Lee Nathanson, University of Maryland
5/6 Mackenzie “Mack” Harrell, East Carolina University
7/8 Raymond Linares, Miami Dade College - Kendall Campus
7/8 Ryan Kuhlmann, University of Minnesota - Duluth

For additional information about the ACUI 9-ball Championships, visit or the Facebook groups “ACUI 9-ball” and “2012 ACUI 9-ball Championships.”