Ding Takes Scottish Crown

Ding Junhui won his first title of the season by beating Anthony McGill 4-2 in the final of the Grant Property Investment.com Scottish Open in Ravenscraig, part of the Betfair European Tour.
Local favourite McGill, from nearby Glasgow, enjoyed a miraculous run to the final, but just came up short against the more experienced Ding, who lifted a trophy for the first time since last season's Welsh Open.
China's top player Ding, age 25, has struggled for form in recent months but now looks poised for a tilt at major titles in the New Year, starting with the Betfair Masters in January.
Breaks of 71 and 77 helped put former UK and Masters champion Ding 2-1 up in the final, then rising star McGill, a 21-year-old playing in his first professional final, made a 66 to level at 2-2.
The Scot made a 49 in the next but, crucially, Ding hit back to take it with a 40 clearance. And when McGill missed a tricky yellow in frame six, it proved his last shot as Ding compiled a run of 71 to seal victory.
Ding, who earned the 12,000 Euro top prize plus 2,000 ranking points, said: "I played well this week, I made a lot of big breaks and concentrated in every game. I was a bit lucky tonight, the fifth frame was a big one. I've built a lot of confidence here and if I can keep my form going I can win more titles this season."
Earlier today, McGill was 3-0 down in his quarter-final against Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon and came back to win 4-3, then he was 3-1 down to Andrew Higginson in the semis and eventually won a respotted black in the deciding frame.
McGill said: "I could have been out earlier, to get to the final is a personal best. But I missed too many easy pots in the end. It was my first time in a big arena and I'll deal with it better next time."
The Betfair European Tour is part of the Players Tour Championship series. The next event is the Munich Open in Germany from January 4-6.
Results (Last 16 onwards)
Last 16
Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 4-3 Barry Hawkins
Nigel Bond 1-4 Anthony McGill
Jimmy Robertson 1-4 Andrew Higginson
Kurt Maflin 3-4 Martin O'Donnell
Steve Davis 1-4 Ding Junhui
Ian Burns 4-2 Liang Wenbo
Mark Joyce 4-3 Gary Wilson
Ken Doherty 4-2 Ryan Day
Quarter Finals
Thanawat Tirapongpaiboon 3-4 Anthony McGill
Andrew Higginson 4-2 Martin O'Donnell
Ding Junhui 4-1 Ian Burns
Mark Joyce 2-4 Ken Doherty
Semi Finals
Anthony McGill 4-3 Andrew Higginson
Ding Junhui 4-2 Ken Doherty
Anthony McGill 2-4 Ding Junhui