Edgardo Ramirez Wins 1st Players Championship of Puerto Rico

Edgardo "Puruco" Ramirez, one of Puerto Rico's finest and a former 2-time National 9 Ball Champ was the winner of the 1st Players Championship of Puerto Rico held at the "Criollo Pub and Restaurant" in Guaynabo, Puerto Rico on April 26th and 27th. The Tournament was formatted for only 24 players, double elimination with races to 10 until the Final round. The Final round was a race to 13.

"Puruco, the undisputed Champ of Puerto Rico" as he is known to fans and players went undefeated to obtain the top prize of $1,500 US dollars and the 1st Place Trophy.

On his way to victory, Puruco obtained a first round bye and then proceeded to defeat Edgardo Irizarry 10-4, German Hernandez 10-7, Juan "Papin" Rodriguez 10-6, Alan Rolon 10-8, and Jason Cruz 13-10, in that order to obtain the coveted crown.

Other Puerto Rican players who had notable wins were Antonio Perez, Efrain Morales, German Hernandez, Luis Cancel and Jason Cruz whom between them all, knocked out 3 invited Pro Players from the Tournament. The Pro Players were Frankie Hernandez, Tony "Flaco Rodriguez, and Ditto Acosta - Pan American Champ from Aruba.

Tournament results were as follows:

1st Place - Edgardo "Puruco" Ramirez with $1,500.00
2nd Place - Jason Cruz with $1,000.00
3rd Place - Alan Rolon with $500.00
4th Place - Frankie Hernandez with $300.00

Photo courtesy of Ray Yordan - Tournament Director
Info contributed by Harold Acosta - Tournament Assistant

For more detailed information, click here.