England Team Victorious Over India ‘A’

The England team of David Lilley, Michael Rhodes and David Craggs have won the Men's Event of the inaugural IBSF World Snooker Team Championships by defeating India 'A' 8-3 in the final, at the DoubleTree Hotel in San Jose, California.

It was India 'A' who opened up their frame account first with the former IBSF World Snooker Champion Pankaj Advani defeating Rhodes, though the English trio hit back with a vengeance winning the following four frames which included a break of 51 by Lilley in the second frame, and in the third frame a break of 44 by Craggs, and success for Lilley on a respotted black in the fourth frame.

Contributions of 24 and 31 in the sixth frame by Manan Chandra pegged the English back to 4-2, but Craggs then restored the English three-frame advantage by gaining the seventh frame and a 5-2 end of session lead.

England returned to the second session's play with all guns blazing as Rhodes knocked in runs of 25 and 49 to overcome Yasin Merchant in frame eight, only to see India's Advani reduce the deficit to 6-3 as he held back Lilley.

30-year-old Craggs then got the English team on the verge of victory as he fired in a break of 62 to claim frame ten, and the match and title was then secured for England as Rhodes comprehensively won the eleventh frame with a break of 46.

The England team will now return across the Atlantic as the newly crowned IBSF World Snooker Team Champions.