European 10-Ball Rounds Continue

Daniele Corrieri

Friday, April 01, 2011:    After the LIVE TV production for Eurosport yesterday with all its preparations and requirements, the European Championships  have switched back to “normal” mode. Play continued today in the 10-ball competition of all three divisions: Men, Women and Wheelchair.

Notable results contained the 8:7 victory of Daniele Corrieri (ITA) over new 8-ball champion Dominic Jentsch (GER). Corrieri won the first three racks but Jentsch equalized that in the following three racks, tying the score at 3:3. Then it was Jentsch to win the next racks gaining a 7:4 lead over Corrieri. Being on the hill, Jentsch was not able to cross the finish line. Corrieri put rack after rack in his account, snatching the match 8:7 from Jentsch. Since Jentsch had already lost 7:8 against Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) in the winner's round, he is now eliminated from the 10-ball competition.

In the winner's qualification round, Oliver Ortmann (GER) lost his match for a seat in the round of the last 32 players against youngster Francisco Sanchez-Ruiz (ESP) 8:1.

In the women's division, all favoured players won their matches and earned their spots in the single elimination. Defending Champion Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) defeated Simone Kuenzl (GER) 6:2. Marika Poikkijoki (FIN) beat Melissa Rademakers (NED) 6:3. European 8-Ball Champion Kynthia Orfanidis (NED) was already on her way to the loser's side, trailing 5:3 against Katrine Jensen (DEN). But then Jensen simply could not close out the match. She missed some important shots including the 10-ball. No need to ask Kynthia twice if she wanted to accept the gifts: of course! She pocketed some difficult long shots and overcame Jensen 6:5 victory in the end. Gerda Hofstaetter (AUT) will be joining Ouschan, Poikkijoki and Orfanidis in the single elimination, winning 6:5 over Russian newcomer Anastasia Nechaeva.

In the wheelchair division, 8-ball champion Jouni Tahti (FIN) succeeded over Kurt Deklerck (BEL) with 5:2. That makes him the first semi-finalist in that division. He is joined by Aslum Abookabar (GBR) who won over Fred Dinsmore with 6:5.

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the event website or contact our press office.