Favorites eliminated at European 10-Ball Championship

Nataliya Seroshtan

Saturday, April 02, 2011: Ralf Souquet, Huidji See, David Alcaide ... all names of players with a great history and with a lot of titles under their belt. And there is something else they now have in common: They all lost their quarter-final matches in the Dynamic European Championships 10-Ball division.

Souquet had another tense match with Radoslaw Babica. The Polish player looked like he would win 8:6 but he missed the 8-ball, giving Souquet another chance at the table. Souquet made the score 7:7. Then Babica had his own break. He fired into the rack, pocketed two balls and ran the rack, eliminating Souquet from the competition.

Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) dominated Huidji See (NED) throughout their whole match. He took a 3:1 and 4:2 lead over See who was only able to come back and close the gap to one rack at 3:4. At that score, Stepanov did not allow See to take another rack, winning the match 8:3. David Alcaide (ESP) was already 6:5 up when his opponent Manuel Gama (POR) pulled out his A-game and left Alcaide sitting in his chair, winning the match 8:6.

In the women's division, Gerda Hofstaetter (AUT) lost to Russian newcomer Nataliya Seroshtan 3:6.

Men's Quarterfinals 10-ball results:
Ralf Souquet (GER) v Radoslaw Babica (POL) 7:8
Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) v Huidji See (NED) 8:3
David Alcaide (ESP) v Manuel Gama (POR) 6:8
Henrique Correia (POR) v Stephan Cohen (FRA) 3:8

Women's Quarterfinals 10-ball results:
Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) v Line Kjoersvik (NOR) 6:0
Anna Majirina (RUS) v Anastasia Nechaeva (RUS) 6:5
Nataliya Seroshtan (RUS) v Gerda Hofstaetter (AUT) 6:3
Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL) v Melissa Rademakers (NED) 6:1

Men's Semi-finals 10-ball:
Radoslaw Babica (POL) v Konstantin Stepanov (RUS)
Manuel Gama (POR) v Stephan Cohen (FRA)

Women's Semi-finals 10-ball:
Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) v Anna Majirina (RUS)
Nataliya Seroshtan (RUS) v Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL)

Wheelchair Semi-finals 10-ball:
Jouni Tahti (FIN) v Roy Kimberley (GBR)
Aslum Aboobakar (GBR) v Henrik Larsson (SWE)

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the event website www.epconline.eu or contact our press office.