Feijen and Van den Berg Lift the “Dutch Curse” in Leende

Niels Feijen

Nick Van Den Berg and Niels Feijen have both made it into the round of the last 16 players at the Dynamic Billard Dutch Open at the Golden Tulip Jagershorst Hotel in Leende, The Netherlands. It looks very promising that we will have Dutch representation in the final stage of the event.


The current Nr. 1 ranked player of the Euro-Tour, Niels Feijen, has won four consecutive matches for his seat in the round of the last 16 players. He defeated Evangelos Vettas (GRE) 9:3 on Thursday, Sebastian Ludwig (GER) 9:6 on Friday and Mieszko Fortunski (POL) 9:7 as well as Petri Makkonen (FIN) with the same result today to show his strength and permanent high level of play in the Euro-Tour. In defeating Makkonen, Feijen also secured himself a spot on this year’s Mosconi Cup Team. Feijen will play against Francisco Sanchez-Ruiz (ESP) in the round of the last 16 players.


Nick van den Berg had to play more matches to get to this stage. He lost in the winner’s round to 15-year old Fedor Gorst from Moscow, Russia, yesterday. SO he needed three more victories to make it into the round of the last 32 players. But van den Berg is a fighter and a high profile player. He defeated Karol Skowerski (POL) 9:6, Christian Sparrenloev-Fischer (SWE) 9:3 and Mihai-Robert Braga (ROM) 9:5 in order to get drawn into the round of the last 32 players. And there he was meant to get his revenge since he was drawn against Fedor Gorst again. This time, van den Berg again took an 8:3 lead over Gorst and AGAIN committed a mistake at that score. It looked like  history could repeat itself. But at 4:8, Gorst missed an easy 2-ball and paved the way for van den Berg to win the match with 9:4 this time. Van den Berg will play Alexander Kazakis (GRE) in the next round.


Other remarkable matches from today include Can Salim-Giasar (GER) ousting German wonderkid


Joshua Filler with 9:7. Piotr Kudlik (POL) defeated Tony Drago (MLT) in the same round with 9:8. Jonni Fulcher (GBR) overpowered Ralf Souquet (GER) with 9:8. Another 9:8 victory was on Petri Makkonen’s side when he ousted Daryl Peach (GBR).


Last 16 players:


Niels Feijen (NED) v Francisco Sanchez-Ruiz (ESP)

Jonni Fulcher (GBR) v Viktor Zielinski (POL)

Nick van den Berg (NED) v Alexander Kazakis (GRE)

Imran Majid (GBR) v Konstantin Stepanov (RUS)

Sebastian Ludwig (GER) v Konrad Juszczyszyn (POL)

Mieszko Fortunski (POL) v Denis Grabe (EST)

Radoslaw Babica (POL) v Albin Ouschan (AUT)

Oliver Ortmann (GER) v Mark Gray (GBR)


Matches will continue tomorrow at 09:00 with the round of the last 16 players.


All matches can be viewed LIVE at www.kozoom.com. Up to 11 tables in HiRes quality are providing you with all the action of the event. You do not miss out one single match! Join today!


More information about participants, schedules, achievements, rankings, etc can be found on the event website www.eurotouronline.com


The event will be hosted by the European Pocket Billiard Federation EPBF and organized by International Billiard Promotion Foundation IBPF.