Feltman Jr. Wins Az State 3 Cushion Championship

Alejandro Barbosa and Paul Feltman Jr.

Paul Feltman Jr. went undefeated over the April 30th – May 1st weekend to win the Arizona State Three Cushion Championship; held by the Arizona Billiards Hall of Fame at Tucson Billiards in Tucson, Arizona. 

The seventeen players were broken up into three groups, playing 20 point matches. Feltman emerged from his group with a perfect 4-0 record, after wins over Tres Kane, Lee Collins, Choung Nguyen and Paul Feltman Sr. Also emerging from that group were Collins with a 3-1 record, and Nguyen with a 2-2 record. 

Advancing from Group A were Alejandro Barbosa, Andres Lopez and Lorenzo Corral. Completing the final eight from Group B were Jim Hendrickson and Bernie Pettipiece. 

Feltman made quick work of his first match in the single elimination final eight bracket, as he defeated Pettipiece 25-10 in only 17 innings. Other first round matches saw Lorenzo Corral defeated Hendrickson 25-16, Lee Collins over Andres Lopez 25-19 and Alejandro Barbosa over Nguyen 25-24 in a marathon 41 inning match. 

The final four saw Barbosa defeat Collins 25-6 and Feltman fighting back in a match that he didn’t lead until the final carom, to defeat Corral 25-24. 

The final match between Barbosa and Feltman went 37 innings with Feltman coming out on top by the score of 31-20, and Feltman was crowned the 2022 Arizona State 3 Cushion Champion. Feltman won $1,000 for first place, and was also the winner of the $100 high run bonus for his run of seven

Go to discussion...


Leave a comment

Please log in to comment