Gallego beats Gomez to become first Filipino WTBC Qualifier winner

Ramil Gallego

VETERAN campaigner Ramil “Bebeng” Gallego became the first Filipino to qualify for the second World Ten Ball Championship (WTBC) after beating compatriot Roberto “Pinoy Superman” Gomez, 9-7, in an all Filipino finale to top the 2nd Qualifier Thursday at the Star Billiards Center  in Grace Village, Quezon City.

On the roads to the finals, Gallego nipped countryman Rodrigo Geronimo, 7-3, while Gomez defeated another Pinoy entry Arnel Bautista, 7-1.

“I hope to perform well in the WTBC main draw,” said the Japan based Gallego, who hails from Bacolod City.

With the feat, Gallego advanced in the 128 player field main draw of the WTBC on November 25 to 30 at the World Trade Center in Pasay City. He will join Filipino players that include 2009 Predator International 10-ball champion Dennis "Robocop" Orcollo, former double world champion (WPA 9-ball and 8-ball) champion Ronato "Volcano" Alcano, 2005 World Pool third placer Marlon "Marvelous" Manalo, 2009 All Japan third placer Warren “Warrior” Kiamco, multiple Southeast Asian Games gold medalist Lee Vann "The Slayer" Corteza , 2008 WTBC 4th placer Demosthenes "Plong-Plong" Pulpul, 2006 Doha Asian Games 9-ball gold medalist Antonio "Ga-Ga" Gabica, 2007 Manny Pacquiao International 9-Ball Champion Jeffrey "The Bull" De Luna, 2008 WPA World Junior finalist Jerico Banares, Carlo Biado and Allan Cuartero.

Gallego has won a number of tournaments, mostly in Asia. His most notable win was won the Bangkok Leg of the 2006 WPA Asian Nine-ball Tour against Chi-Wai Au of Hong Kong.

Meanwhile, Ming Wang of China beat countryman Jin Hu Dang, 9-8, to rule the first qualifier of the day. Earlier, Ming bested Dai Yung, 7-4, while Jin Hu edged Guo Hua, 7-5.