Grabe kicks Babica out of EPC 8-Ball Division

Denis Grabe

Monday, March 28, 2011: Denis Grabe from Estonia has eliminated Poland's Radoslaw Babica from the EPC 8-Ball Division 8-4. The match started out quite evenly. Both players took their first racks and it did not look as if either of them would be outscoring the other one. When the score was tied at 4:4, suddenly the tide turned in favour of Grabe. Unbelievably cool he played his game and did not allow Babica to take one more single rack. The score in the end was 8-4 in favour of the Baltic player. He will have to deal with Albin Ouschan from Austria in the quarterfinal which will be played tomorrow, Monday, March 28 , at 16:30 local time.

Also unexpected was the win of 14-year old Ana Gradisnik (SLO) 6-4 over Veronika Hubrtova (CZE) in the Women's division. Other results were as follows:

Men's Last 16 players Results:
Tomasz Kaplan (POL) v Kim Laaksonen (FIN) 8:4
Jaroslav Polach (SVK) v Carlos Cabello (SPA) 5:8
Bruno Muratore (ITA) v Artem Koshovyi (UKR) 8:5
Ralf Souquet (GER) v David Alcaide (SPA) 8:5
Radoslaw Babica (POL) v Denis Grabe (EST) 4:8
Mario He (AUT) v Albin Ouschan (AUT) 6:8
Dominic Jentsch (GER) v Sandor Tot (SRB) 8:5
Bayram Lotfy (DEN) v Nick van den Berg (NED) 8:6

Men's Quarterfinals:
Tomasz Kaplan (POL) v Carlos Cabello (SPA)
Bruno Muratore (ITA) v Ralf Souquet (GER)
Denis Grabe (EST) v Albin Ouschan (AUT)
Dominic Jentsch (GER) v Bayram Lotfy (DEN)

Women's Last 16 players Results:
Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) v Ine Helvik (NOR) 6:1
Sara Iannini (ITA) v Marika Poikkijoki (FIN) 1:6
Ana Gradisnik (SLO) v Veronika Hubrtova (CZE) 6:4
Eylul Kibaroglu (TUR) v Line Kjoersvik (NOR) 2:6
Tamara Rademakers (NED) v Kynthia Orfanidis (NED) 5:6
Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL) v Anastasia Nechaeva (RUS) 4:6
Petra Stadlbauer (AUT) v Oliwia Czuprynska (POL) 6:4
Katarzyna Wesolowska (POL) v Simone Kuenzl (GER) 6:4

Women's Quarterfinals:
Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) v Marika Poikkijoki (FIN)
Ana Gradisnik (SLO) v Line Kjoersvik (NOR)
Kynthia Orfanidis (NED) v Anastasia Nechaeva (RUS)
Petra Stadlbauer (AUT) v Katarzyna Wesolowska (POL)

Wheelchair Quarterfinals Results:
Kurt Deklerck (BEL) v Eduard Karamatic (CRO) 5:3
Matt Duffy (GBR) v Fred Dinsmore (IRL) 2:5
Jouni Tahti (FIN) v Roy Kimberley (GBR) 5:1
Aslum Aboobakar (GBR) v Daniel Luton (GBR) 5:4

Wheelchair Semifinals:
Kurt Deklerck (BEL) v Fred Dinsmore (IRL)
Jouni Tahti (FIN) v Aslum Aboobakar (GBR)

First matches on Monday morning will be the start of the 9-ball competition. The 8-ball will be continued at 16:30 local time.

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the event website or contact our press office.