He, Seroshtan and Tahti go for glory

Left to right: Natalya Seroshtan, Jouni Tahti and Mario He Foto: EPBF/DK

The three European 8-Ball Champions 2012 are Mario He (AUT), Natalya Seroshtan (RUS) and Jouni Tahti (FIN).

In the men's division, the final match was a catastrophe for opponent Artem Koshovyi (UKR). He had played so well during the event but in the final, the balls definitely rolled for He. The Austrian demolished Koshovyi with 8:0 and demonstrated his performance skills in a very impressive way. “I am really happy to have won this tournament”, said He, “I still can't believe it.” “I hope all my friends in Austria will party tonight and celebrate this historic victory with me”.

In the women's division, 15-year-old Natalya Seroshtan ended Marika Poikkijoki's winning streak with some very good pool. After 5 racks, Seroshtan was ahead with 4:1. Again, a shot-clock was introduced  to the match since Poikkijoki used too much time for her shots. Whether that affected her game or not can only be guessed. But it definitely did affect the performance of young Seroshtan. She remained strong at the table and won deservedly 6:3. “This victory means so much to me”, she said very modest when interviewed after the final. When asked about a role model, she said “Jasmin Ouschan, of course!” Jasmin heard that and threw her a big smile and gave thumbs up for her play.

In the wheelchair division, Jouni Tahti (FIN) grabbed the 13th European Champion title of his career. He defeated Roy Kimberley (GBR) after a long and hard battle with 5:2

Top 8 Men

1. Mario He AUT
2. Artem Koshovyi UKR
Francisco Diaz ESP
Tomasz Kaplan POL

Top 8 Women

1. Natalya Seroshtan RUS
2. Marika Poikkijoki FIN
3. Darya Sirotina RUS
Jasmin Ouschan AUT
Jasmin Michel GER
Sandra Baumgartner AUT

Top 4 Wheelchair

1. Jouni Tahti FIN
2. Roy Kimberley GBR
3. Fred Dinsmore IRE
Tankred Volkmer GE

Medals table

1. Austria 2 Gold, 4 Bronze
2. Russia 1 Gold, 2 Silver, 3 Bronze
3. Netherlands 1 Gold, 1 Silver, 1 Bronze
4. Finland 1 Gold, 1 Silver
5. Great Britain 1 Gold, 1 Silver
6. Germany 1 Gold, 2 Bronze
7. Norway 1 Gold, 1 Bronze
8. Ireland 1 Silver, 1 Bronze
9. France 1 Silver
Ukraine 1 Silver
11. Sweden 2 Bronze
12. Estonia 1 Bronze
Spain 1 Bronze

The Dynamic European Championships will continue  on Wednesday  morning, 09:00 CET.

The event  is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website www.epconline.eu , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office