Hendry To Face Debutant Zhang At Crucible

Seven times Crucible King Stephen Hendry will play new Chinese sensation Zhang Anda in the first round of the Betfred.com World Snooker Championship next month.
The random draw for the televised stages took place this morning and saw legend Hendry pitched against 18-year-old debutant Zhang. The last 32 clash will start on the opening day of the tournament, Saturday April 17, and conclude the following day.
“Last year I played Mark Williams in the first round so I knew what to expect, but this time I don't know what to expect because I've never played Zhang. He's an unknown quantity,” said Scotland's Hendry.
Zhang, who stands five feet three inches tall and is nicknamed Mighty Mouse, won four matches in the qualifying rounds to earn a place at snooker's most famous venue. "I am very excited about the draw,” he said. “Stephen Hendry is a snooker legend and it will be a dream and an honour to play him at the Crucible.  I hope I will be able to give him a good game and I am looking forward to it very much.”
Defending Betfred.com World Champion John Higgins faces a stiff test on the opening day against Barry Hawkins, the highest ranked of the qualifiers at No 17 in the World.
World No 1 Ronnie O'Sullivan also has a tough draw, up against Chinese ace Liang Wenbo, whom the Rocket beat in the quarter-finals en route to his third World title in 2008.
Ken Doherty, the 1997 champion, will take on 2007 finalist Mark Selby, while Peter Ebdon faces Graeme Dott in a repeat of the 2006 final. Steve Davis, making a record 30th appearance at the Crucible, will be up against fellow Essex cueman Mark King.
The Betfred.com World Snooker Championship runs from April 17 to May 3. Tickets for certain session are still available, for details call 0114 249 6006 or visit
The draw in full is:
John Higgins v Barry Hawkins

Mark King v Steve Davis

Neil Robertson v Fergal O'Brien

Marco Fu v Martin Gould

Ali Carter v Jamie Cope

Joe Perry v Michael Holt

Ding Junhui v Stuart Pettman

Shaun Murphy v Gerard Greene

Stephen Maguire v Stephen Lee

Peter Ebdon v Graeme Dott

Mark Allen v Tom Ford

Ryan Day v Mark Davis

Mark Selby v Ken Doherty

Stephen Hendry v Zhang Anda

Mark Williams v Marcus Campbell

Ronnie O'Sullivan v Liang Wenbo