Hillbilly closes out Lone Star Tour with a win and tour champion title

Charlie Bryant, Kyu Yi, Kim White and Andy Jethwa

Charlie ‘Hillbilly' Bryant never seems as determined and focused as he does when someone sends him to the one-loss side early in an event, which, for Bryant, is pretty much ‘whenever.' That determination and focus propelled him to a victory in the season finale of the Lone Star Tour, on the weekend of December 12-13.  The win also earned Bryant the title of Lone Star Tour's 2009 Tour Champion, as he finished the season just ahead of Sylver Ochoa in total tour points. Dennis Strickland and Lanny Herrin finished third and fourth, respectively.  

The $1,200-added season finale of the Lone Star Tour drew 75 entrants to Bogie's Billiards in Houston, TX. A $350-added  Ladies' event drew 12 entrants and was won by Kyu Yi, who defeated Courtney Peters in a second set, hill-hill match, after Peters had won the opening set 7-1.

In the main event, after victories over Brian Rosenbaum, Ernesto Bayaua and Sonny Bosshamer, Hillbilly was sent to the one-loss side 9-4 by the man he'd eventually face in the finals, Andy Jethwa. Jethwa moved among the winners' side final four to face Sylver Ochoa, defeating him and moving into the hot seat match against Mike Alonzo, who'd sent Jason Bacon west 9-8. Jethwa sat in the hot seat after a 9-7 win over Alonzo.

Meanwhile, back at the one-loss side ranch, Hillbilly began his five-match return to the finals with a 7-1 win over Jim Henry. He followed it with hill-hill wins over James Davis, Jr. and Bacon to get into the quarterfinals. It was Aaron Springs, after victories over Todd Lewis 7-4 and Raul Escobedo 7-2, who faced Ochoa. Ochoa dropped him into the tie for fifth place to meet Hillbilly. Demonstrating some of his determination and focus, Hillbilly allowed his next two opponents – Ochoa in the quarterfinals and Alonzo in the semifinals – only a single rack each to get back to Jethwa in the true double elimination finals.  

Hillbilly took the opening set 9-6 and with the race reduced to seven games, took the final set 7-4 to capture the first place prize in the season finale.  The victory also earned Hillbilly free entry to the Derby City Classic and $200 in Delta 13 products.  

Poison Cues and the Delta 13 rack were the Lone Star Tour's official cue and rack sponsor for the inaugural season of this tour.  A Poison cue was won by Mike Payne in the season finale event. Billiard Factory donated $1,000 in products for a stipend for the Predator 10-Ball event.  

The Lone Star Tour will launch its 2010 season with a 10-ball event, to be hosted by Q Stix in Houston on the weekend of January 16-17.

1st Charlie Bryant $860
2nd Andy Jethwa $560
3rd Mike Alonzo $390
4th Sylver Ochoa $300
5th Jason Bacon $175
Aaron Springs
7th James Davis, Jr. $150
Raul Escobedo
9th Viet Do $100
Jim Henry
Todd  Lewis
Eric Aicinena
13th Ernesto Bayaua $50
T.J. Ortiz
Thomas Ybarra
Sonny Bosshamer


1st Kyu Yi $275
2nd Courtney Peters $175
3rd Terry Petrosino $90
4th Yvette Reyes $50