Hohmann and Tasi earn China Open Wins

Winners Thorsten Hohmann and Pei-Chen Tasi, with Runners-up Niels Feijen and Karen Corr

Thorsten Hohmann and Pei-Chen Tasi are the 2009 China Open Champions.

Hohmann went undefeated through the field of players with wins over Xian-Li Bo and Toru Kuribayashi in the group stages. Hohmann made things interesting in the single elim stages as his first three wins over Vegas Kristiansen, Jian-Bo Fu and Kuribayashi were by a total of four games. Hohmann turned it on after that defeated Hui-chan Lu and then Niels Feijen in the finals for first place.

Tasi suffered one loss in her quest for the title as she dropped a 9-6 match to Shin-Mei Liu in the group stages. Tasi recovered from that loss and booked her place in the final sixteen with a win over China's Ye Sisi. In the final sixteen, Tasi got her revenge and eliminated Liu 9-6, then went on to defeat crowd favorite Jasmin Ouschan by the same 9-6 score. Tasi then had back to back hill-hill wins over Xiao-Fang Fu and then Karen Corr for the victory.

The wins earned Hohmann $40,000 in prize money and Tasi $25,000 in prize money.