Jeremy Jones and Amanda Lampert 2007 Houston Open Champions

Jeremy Jones

The 17th Annual Houston Open took place the weekend of October 6th and 7th at Legend's Billiards in League City, Texas. This $5000 added event drew talent from all over Texas and then some. A total field of 118 players were present, including the usual top picks such as Jeremy Jones, recent Texas State Open Champ Sylver Ochoa, Charlie “Hillbilly” Bryant, Rick Stanley, and Dennis Strickland.

In the final hours of the open event, Jeremy Jones bested Charlie Bryant to get into the winners bracket hot seat match were he took on Javier Franco (whom had just sent Billy Sharp to the one-loss side 9-5) for the hot seat and maintained control with a final score of 9-4. On the one-loss side, Billy Sharp was battling out his final stance with tough competitor Charlie Bryant and managed to send Bryant home with a 7-4 set win. This win set him up against Javier Franco and after a very close race, Sharp ended his tournament life with a score of 7-6.

The finals saw Jeremy Jones take immediate command of the set with a quick 2-0 lead. Jones appeared to be in stroke and continued to seize control of the match until the title was his to keep.

In the women's event, twenty-two ladies came out to compete for their chance at the title of Houston Open Womens Champion. The final four ladies played their hearts out for that chance, but it was Amanda Lampert that would make her way through the one-loss side to double-dip hot seat winner Tara McCracken. The third place honors went to Kyu Yi after Lampert surpassed her, and Helen Hayes followed closely behind in fourth place.

Click here for open division payouts.
Click here for ladies division payouts.

File photo courtesy of Diana Hoppe