Jungo Wins Dynamic German Open

Serge Das loses second final in a row

Saturday, 27 August 2011: In a suspense-packed final match, Dimitri Jungo (SUI) won 8:5 over Serge Das (BEL) and took the title of the Dynamic German Open Euro-Tour 2011.

The start of the match was definitely not according to Das' liking. Jungo played excellent safety shots while Das was almost always able to come up with a reasonable resafe. However, when the scoreboard showed 3:1 in favour of Jungo, Das pocketed a difficult 10-ball and scratched. Instead of getting closer to Jungo, the score was now 4:1 in favour of the Swiss player. “That was very important for me. I really thought that I would get more momentum going now”, said Jungo, “but instead I gave the lead away to carelessly.”. Not at all being frustrated, Das started an impressive comeback and was able to even tie the match at 4:4. Since both players took very long time for their shots, a shot clock was imposed on the match at that time by the tournament officials. Both players seemed to suffer from that since they started missing easy shots. “Actually, I like to play with the shot clock since I was always a fast player”, stated Jungo, “however, when you start a match without the clock and then have to adjust to it, you start missing easy shots.” After the 4:4, Jungo took a time out. He came back and benefitted in the next two racks from Das' mistakes, gaining a 6:4 lead over Das. Again Das tried to come back but this time he was not so successful. When Jungo was on the hill at 7:5, Das broke the balls, made two of them and left a good safety shot for Jungo. Jungo missed and Das was about to run that rack when he left the 9-ball hanging over the pocket. That was the end for him in this event. Jungo potted the remaining two balls and won the match 8:5. He is the Dynamic German Open Champion 2011.

“I have won the Kaliningrad Euro-Tour in 2000 as the youngest player ever to win a Euro-Tour event. I have made a break from 2001 to 2005 on the international circuit and I am back now. I have increased my practise level during the past months. Winning here and today means a lot to me. It shows me I am on the right way and I have to potential to compete with the best players in the game.

Final Standings Top 16 Dynamic German Open:

1. Dimitri Jungo SUI 4500,- €
2. Serge Das BEL 2800,- €
3. Karl Boyes GBR 1800,- €
Manuel Ederer GER 1800,- €
5.Chris Melling GBR 1380,- €
Tony Drago MLT 1380,- €
Kevin Becker GER 1380,- €
Mariusz Skoneczny POL 1380,- €
9. Konstantin Stepanov RUS 900,- €
Oliver Ortmann GER 900,- €
Marcus Chamat SWE 900,- €
Jayson Shaw SCO 900,- €
Jürgen Jenisy AUT 900,- €
Patryck Bryll POL 900,- €
Guilherme Sousa POR 900,- €
Noel Bruynooghe BEL 900,- €

Euro-Tour Top 10:

1. Nick van den Berg NED 2330 pts
2. Chris Melling GBR 2300 pts
    Ralf Souquet GER 2300 pts
4. Konstantin Stepanov RUS 2110 pts
5. Karl Boyes GBR 2080 pts
6. Darren Appleton GBR 2050 pts
7. Daryl Peach GBR 2030 pts
8. Serge Das BEL 1990 pts
9. Oliver Ortmann GER 1070 pts,
    Mark Gray GBR 1070 pts

This concludes the coverage of the event.

The event was hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website www.eurotouronline.eu , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.