Megan Smith wins Maryland State Women’s Title

Briana Miller and Megan Smith

The Women's Maryland State 10 Ball Championship was held at Champion Billiard Café  on Saturday November 6th. Notable players included Denise Reeve, Patti Jakusz, Eugenia Gyftopoulos, Nicole Vincent, Linda Shea, Briana Miller, and Megan Smith.

Leading the top half of the bracket was Briana Miller with wins over Patti Jakusz 7-1 and Nicole Vincent 7-1. Leading the bottom half of the was Linda Shea with wins over Eugenia Gyftopoulos 7-4 and Megan Smith 7-5.  Playing for the hot seat was Briana Miller vs Linda Shea. This was a good match with Miller pulling away late in the match to win 7-4 and sending Shea to the one loss side.

Making a move on the one loss side was Megan Smith. After losing to Linda Shea, she went on to beat Patti Jakusz 6-5, Nicole Vincent 6-3 and Linda Shea 6-5 to get to the finals.  In the finals it was Megan Smith vs Briana Miller this was one race to 7, this was a one sided match when it was all said and done it was Megan Smith coming away with the win 7-2 .  I would like to thank all the sponsors and all the players that came out to play.