Melling easy prey for Ekonomopoulos

Nikos Ekonomopoulos (GRE)
St. Johann, Austria: In a quick match that lasted 55 minutes only, Nikos Ekonomopoulos (GRE) creamed Chris Melling (GBR) with 9:2.
All was good and even after four rack. At a score of 2:2, Melling seemed to lose his game and Ekonomopoulos showed no mercy with the Brit. Having played not so well in his first three matches, Ekonomopoulos knew he had to improve or leave the event. Obviously, he went for the first option. He dominated the match and played rock solid and fast. Melling never found his game and the result was 9:2 in favor or Ekonomopoulos in the end.
Other notable results include Tomasz Kaplan (POL) winning by a hair's breadth with 9:8 over Stephan Cohen (FRA). Even though Cohen was the first one on the hill with 8:7, he was not able to win the match and continue the march to the trophy tomorrow. Alexander Kazakis (GRE) stopped young talented Ivo Aarts (NED) with 9:6 and eliminated him from the event at this stage. Juan Carlos Exposito (ESP) provided the tournament with a huge surprise, ousting last year's tour winner and Player of the Year 2012 Nick Van Den Berg (NED) with 9:6.
Results Final 32 players
Albin Ouschan (AUT) v Ruslan Chinakhov (RUS) 9:7
Alexander Kazakis (GRE) v Ivo Aarts (NED) 9:6
Konstantin Stepanov (RUS) v Manuel Gama (POR) 9:7
Dominic Jentsch (GER) v Oliver Ortmann (GER) 8:9
Karol Skowerski (POL) v Radoslaw Babica (POL) 9:2
Nikos Ekonomopoulos (GRE) v Chris Melling (GBR) 9:2
Bruno Muratore (ITA) v Jim Chawki (SWE) 4:9
Huidji See (NED) v David Alcaide (ESP) 4:9
Marco Teutscher (NED) v Roman Hybler (CZE) 9:4
Tim Goergen (GER) v Phil Burford (GBR) 6:9
Stephan Cohen (FRA) v Tomasz Kaplan (POL) 8:9
Balasz Miko (HUN) v Petri Makkonen (FIN) 2:9
Daryl Peach (GBR) v Andreas Gerwen (SWE) 9:8
Vegar Kristiansen (NOR) v Niels Feijen (NED) 6:9
Mieszko Fortunski (POL) v Mark Gray (GBR) 8:9
Juan Carlos Exposito (ESP) v Nick van den Berg (NED) 9:6
Tomorrow at 09:00 CET, the Women's Euro-Tour will begin with the first round matches. The Men's Dynamic Billard Austria Open will continue at 10:00 CET. You can follow all the action LIVE at
The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website or contact our press office.