Nick van den Berg Dominates

The winner and new #1 ranked player: Nick van den Berg (NED)

“El Nino” takes the title

Saturday, 10 November 2012: The winner of the 2012 Dynamic Billiards European Open 2012 is Nick van den Berg from The Netherlands. He defeated Fabio Petroni (ITA) with 11:5 in the final match.

The final was probably the most entertaining match of the whole tournament. Both players demonstrated pool billiards to its perfection. However, van den Berg had the better break shot and his game seemed to be a bit more consistent than Petroni’s. And it was proven to be true. In the 12th rack, Petroni made no ball on the break and van den Berg ran that rack and his next one and took a three-point lead over Petroni. The Italian never recovered from that and in the end could not win one more rack. 11:5 was the final result for van den Berg who not only won this event but also finished this season as the #1 ranked player on the Euro-Tour rankings.

“In the beginning of the season, I set a goal to myself: I really wanted to win this Tour this year”, said van den Berg, “I finished third last year and second the year before so I had this goal throughout the season.” “In the beginning of this tournament, David and Albin had a good lead on me so I knew I had to reach at least the semi-final or even final in order to win the Tour.” “I played very good in the final and I figured out the break shot. While most of the other players struggled with it, I knew how to break. That probably made the difference in tis final match as well”.

Top eight finishers Dynamic Billiards European Open:

Name      Nation      Points       Money

1. Nick van den Berg NED 550 7.000,-€
2. Fabio Petroni ITA 480 4.000,-€
3. David Alcaide ESP 420 3.000,-€
Radoslaw Babica POL 420 3.000,-€
5. Tomasz Kaplan POL 370 2.000,-€
Albin Ouschan AUT 370 2.000,-€
Marc Bijsterbosch NED 370 2.000,-€
Karlo Dalmatin CRO 370 2.000,-€

Top Ten Euro-Tour Final Ranking 2012:

1. Nick van den Berg NED 2440
2. David Alcaide ESP 2350
3. Albin Ouschan AUT 2335
4. Dominic Jentsch GER 2175
5. Nikos Ekonomopoulos GRE 2170
6. Mark Gray GBR 2155
7. Daryl Peach GBR 2085
8. Oliver Ortmann GER 2080
9. Dimitri Jungo SUI 2060
10. Chris Melling GBR 2035

That concludes the coverage of the Dynamic Billiards European Open 2012. The women’s Euro-Tour will continue tomorrow morning at 09:30 CET.

The event is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website, follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.