Orcollo Set to Defend World 8-Ball Title

Dennis Orcollo

World No. 1 player Dennis “Robocop” Orcollo will begin his bid to retain his title when the 2012 World 8-Ball Championships gets underway on February 12 to 17 at the Fujairah Exhibition Center in Fujairah, United Arab Emirates.

"I'm hoping to defend my title… I need to play hard. Every player has a chance to be a champion," said the former fisherman from Bislig, Surigao del Sur whose local and international campaign backed up by Malungai Life Oil, ACCEL, Hermes Sports Bar, Mandarin Sky Sea Food Restaurant,Golden Leaf Restaurant, I-Bar, BRKHRD Corp., Bugsy Promotions and Billiards Managers and Players Association of the Philippines (BMPAP).

Last year, Orcollo, Bugsy Promotions' top player, defeated Niels "The Terminator" Feijen of the Netherlands, 10-3, in the finals to cement his status of one of the world's best pool players and run away with the $40,000 championship purse.

Orcollo's stirring performance duplicated the World 8-Ball title conquests made by compatriots Efren "Bata" Reyes in 2004 and Ronato "Volcano" Alcano in 2007.

The only World 8-Ball crowns that the Filipino pool champions failed to win were those in 2005 (won by Taiwanese Wu Chia-ching), 2008 (German Ralf Souquet) and 2010 (Englishman Karl Boyes). The event was not held in 2006 and 2009.

"We have a stronger lineup and I'm confident that we can win the prestigious crown," said Billiards Managers and Players Association of the Philippines (BMPAP) co-founder Ceferino "Perry" Mariano, top honcho of the star-studded Bugsy Promotions.

Also campaigning in the 2012 World 8-Ball are Carlo "The Black Tiger" Biado and Roberto "Pinoy Superman" Gomez also from Bugsy Promotions and Lee Vann "The Slayer" Corteza of the Jonathan Sy's Negros Billiards Stable.

Meanwhile, Orcollo and boxing champion Nonito Donaire Jr.  are co-winners of the prestigious Athlete of the Year honor to be feted by the country's oldest media organization, composed of editors and sportswriters of the different national broadsheets and tabloids when the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Annual Awards Night gets going on March 3 at the Manila Hotel along Roxas Boulevard in Manila. Marlon Bernardino