World Pool Masters

Ralf Souquet will begin the defence of his World Pool Masters title against Mosconi Cup team-mate David Alcaide.

Souquet, who has won the Masters a record five times, faces a tough first round encounter against Spaniard Alcaide in the opening match at the Hotel Zuiderduin, Egmond aan Zee, Holland.

These two players know each other well as they were part of the near-miss European Mosconi Cup side that played America in Rotterdam last December.

The Masters, one of the most prestigious events on the pool calendar, will be held from June 8-10 and features 16 top players from around the world, including reigning World Champion Ronnie Alcano (Philippines) and current European No.1 Niels Feijen (Holland).

Each match will be played in a race-to-eight, alternate break format with a 45-second shot-clock. The prize fund totals $62,000, with the winner pocketing $20,000, while first round losers take home $1,500.

The Draw

Friday, June 8 (all times are CET)

Round One
Afternoon session (begins at 2pm)

1. Ralf Souquet (GER) v David Alcaide (ESP)
2. Naoyuki Oi (JPN) v Oliver Ortmann (GER)
3. Li He-wen (CHN) v Pat Holtz (SCO)

Evening session (begins at 7pm)

World Pool Masters Trickshots - featuring Rob Mollien (NED), Jasmin Ouschan (AUT), Oliver Ortmann (GER), Stefano Pelinga (ITA), Vincent Facquet (FRA.

Saturday, June 9 – Round One

Afternoon session (begins at 2pm)

4. Imran Majid (ENG) v Niels Feijen (NED)
5. Wu Chia-ching (TPE) v Tyler Edey (CAN)
6. Tony Drago (MLT) v Thomas Engert (GER)

Evening session (begins at 7pm)

7. Nick van den Berg (NED) v Jasmin Ouschan (AUT)
8. Fabio Petroni (ITA) v Ronnie Alcano (PHI)

9. Ralf Souquet or David Alcaide v Naoyuki Oi or Oliver Ortmann

Sunday, June 10 – Quarter-finals

Afternoon session (begins at 2pm)

10. Li He-wen or Pat Holtz v Imran Majid or Niels Feijen
11. Wu Chia-ching or Tyler Edey v Tony Drago or Thomas Engert
12. Nick van den Berg or Jasmin Ouschan v Fabio Petroni or Ronnie Alcano

Evening session (begins at 7pm)


13. Winner of match 9 v winner of match 10
14. Winner of match 11 v winner of match 12

Final 15. Winner of match 13 v winner of match 14