Philippines Vs Usa In First Round Of World Junior 9-Ball; David Test The Mettle With Rakin

Lone Filipino Representative Rene Mar “Revo” David will have his baptism of fire when the 2006 World Junior 9-Ball Championships reels off on Nov.13 to 17 in Sydney, Australia and will televised in ABC television in the said country.

There are two venues in the 19-year-old and below tournament for boy's and girl's division using race-to-9, alternate break, double elimination format. They are Rooty Hill RSL Club and Holiday Inn Hotel Complex in Sherbrooke Road, Rooty Hill.

According to official website of World Pool-Billiard Association (WPBA), the 17 year-old David who base from Barangay Botocan, Quezon City will be pitted Daniel Rakin of Daly City, California.

“(Please pray for me) Sana ipagdarasal n'yo po ako.” said David, born in Apalit, Pampanga but raise in Candon City, Ilocos Sur.

David is officially Philippine representative when he topped the 19 and under division and finished over-all 18th place in the 2006 BSCP National Championship which won by Alex “The Lion” Pagulayan. This is the first time that Philippine will join in the World Junior.

The 16-year-old Rakin finished in a tie for 17th to 24 places in the 2004 Billiards Congress of America (BCA) Junior National was held in SUMC Billiards & Games room in University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona.

The winner of the match between David and Rakin will be pitted either Hae-Jin Shin of Korea or Jonathan Mc Dowell Pakieto of New Zealand.

However, all eye's on defending champion Yu-Lun Wu of Chinese-Taipei who bested compatriot Wu Chia-Ching in the last year's finals.

Other player in the 32 main draw are Pin-Yi Ko (Chinese-Taipei), Tsung-Yu Huang (Chinese-Taipei), Kui-Ming Lin (Chinese-Taipei), Dae-Lin Lee (Korea), Byeong-Chae Son (Korea), Norio Ogawa (Japan), Yusuke Shibata (Japan), Mohammas Reza Farshd (Iran), Justin Bergman (USA), Ryan Dunn (USA), Austin Murphy (USA), John Morra (Canada), Tyler Bartsh (Canada), Diego Gomez (Venezuela), Gerald Lopez (Nicaragua), Yevgen Novosad (Ukraine), Artem Koshovyy (Ukraine), Bartlomej Czapla (Poland), Adam Skoneczny (Poland), Johannes Kauhanen (Finland), Thomas Luttich (Germany), Jason Fisher (Australia), Blake Bartlett (Australia), Ben Getaj (Australia), Jason Kenwell (Australia), Nick Pera (New Zealand) and Tim Putu (New Zealand).