Poikkijoki, Tahti and Diaz wear European 9-ball crown

Francisco Diaz and Marika Poikkijoki in their moment of glory Foto: EPBF/DK

The new European Champions  in 9-ball are Marika Poikkijoki (FIN), Jouni Tahti (FIN) and Francisco Diaz (ESP).

Francisco Diaz had to deal with Marcus Chamat (SWE) in the final of the men's division. Chamat had played strong throughout the whole tournament and just finished a brilliant semi-final match, not leaving a chance for his opponent. But that had changed in the final. Whereas Diaz was as calm as ice, Chamat could not perform up to what he did in the earlier rounds. He missed balls and positions and consequently Diaz took a lead.  Due to the strong play of Diaz, he never gave the advantage away anymore. Chamat was trailing from the very beginning and while Diaz grew stronger and better, Chamat finally had to accept his defeat. The match ended 9:4 in Diaz' favour.

In the women's division, Marika Poikkijoki (FIN) won against Jasmin Michel (GER). It is Poikkijoki's first title. She had won a silver medal in last year's and this year's 8-ball competition, but never been a European gold medallist before. Today, she stood the heat and performed great against Jasmin Michel (GER) who happened to take out top favourite Jasmin Ouschan in the semi-final. Michel did not get into her game so the stage was Pokkijoki's alone. She clearly won the women's final with 7:3.

In the wheelchair division, Jouni Tahti (FIN) added another title to his collection by defeating Daniel Luton (GBR) with 7:2.

The event  is hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website www.epconline.eu , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.