Purdue University wins 6th Annual UMTPC

In a 3-day battle that ended in a 20-minute nail-biter, Purdue University's "Lobster Chips" outlasted the defending champion Michigan "Wrecking Crew Volume 2" to take the University of Michigan Team Pool Championships (UMTPC) title.  Sixty-seven students on 15 teams representing 9 schools, 7 states, 4 ACUI regions, and even one Canadian province turned out for this 6th annual event, the largest intercollegiate team pool championship in North America.  Four-person teams compete in a series of events, including Modified Straight Pool, Scotch Doubles 9-ball, Team 8-ball, a Break Contest, Bonus points for individual achievement (break and run, high run, etc.), and even a Sportsmanship competition (decided by peer vote).   
An immediate tally of the leader board after completion of the three team events showed that Michigan and Purdue were in a DEAD TIE for 1st place in All Events.  The teams would pick their best horse to play a sudden-death single game of 8-ball; anchors Kilgore and Arrick would face each other for all the marbles.  After a long safety battle, Arrick came out on top to win the 2009 UMTPC title for the co-ed Purdue squad.
Final standings:  

1st          310 pts   Purdue “Lobster Chips”

2nd         310        Michigan “Wrecking Crew, V.2”

3rd          275        University of Illinois “Team 1”

4th          255        Virginia Tech “Hokies”

5th          90          Western Ontario “To Be Announced”

6th          70          Virginia Tech “Maroon Effect”

7th (tie)   50          West Virginia “Mountain Men”

7th (tie)   50          University of Akron “Gold”

9th          30          Indiana “Bangers”

10th        5           Mansfield University “Mounties”

11th (tie)    0       Michigan “The Bye”                       

  Akron “Blue”                        

  Illinois “Team 2”                       

  Purdue “Boiler Breakers”                       

  Cincinnati “Bearcats”

Tournament MVP Darron Arrick, Purdue

Honorable Mention Jamie Kilgore, Michigan

Honorable Mention Mike Robertson, Virginia Tech

Honorable Mention Keith Little, West Virginia  

Break Contest Winner Corey Sykes, Virginia Tech

Honorable Mention Andrei Popa, Indiana

Honorable Mention Matt Lynch, Akron

Sportsmanship Winner Alla Dziuma, Illinois

Honorable Mention Tarissa Martin, Purdue

Honorable Mention Max Zugay, Akron

For more information about this annual event, visit http://www.umich.edu/~billiard/.