Shaw and Burgos win Predator Tour Open and A-D event at Steinway Billiards


Jayson Shaw took down Ronnie Alcano twice to complete an undefeated November 24-25 weekend on the Predator Tour (Open division), while Dave Burgos came back from a defeat in the hot seat match of the A-D handicapped event to take down Meshak Daniel in the finals. The $500-added Open event drew 17 entrants to Steinway Billiards in Astoria, NY. The $500-added, handicapped event drew 68 to the same location.

Shaw and Alcano met first in the hot seat match of the Open event. Shaw had just sent Frankie Hernandez to the loss side, as Alcano was busy doing likewise to Daniel Dagotdot, both by 7-2 scores. Shaw got into the hot seat 7-3 over Alcano, and waited for him to get back.

On the loss side, Hernandez picked up Jeremy Sossei, who was in the midst of a four-match, loss-side winning streak that began among the winners' side final eight when Alcano had sent him west 7-4. The streak would eventually pit him against Alcano for a second time in the semifinals. Sossei moved west, defeating Jay Pinkston 7-4 and Zion Zvi 7-2 to reach Hernandez. Dagotdot drew Mike Wong, who'd shut out Mike Miller and downed tour director Tony Robles 7-3. Sossei got by Hernandez 7-4, as Dagotdot ended Wong's day 7-5.

Sossei went on to shut Dagotdot out in the quarterfinals, breaking and running the last six racks of seven played, and turned for a second chance against Alcano in the semifinals. Alcano gave up only two racks in the semifinal rematch to earn his own second chance against Shaw. Shaw gave up only two in the extended race-to-9 finals against Alcano to complete his undefeated run, and claim the event title.

In the A-D event, Burgos' path to victory went through Jorge Vivanco among the winners' side final four, as Daniel was busy with Kevin Jaikeran. Burgos sent Vivanco west 8-5. Jaikeran went with him on the heels of a 7-1 victory by Daniel. Daniel and Burgos battled to double hill before Daniel prevailed to sit in the hot seat.

Vivanco moved over to meet Michael Yednak, who'd survived a double hill match versus Brian Hunter and defeated Yesib Garibello 7-2. Jaikeran picked up Rene Villalobos, who'd defeated Jose Kuilan 7-4 and edged Luis Jimenez, double hill. In two, tightly contested matches, Villalobos handed Jaikeran his second straight loss 7-5, as Vivanco edged by Yednak, double hill. 

Both the quarterfinal and semifinal match went double hill; Villalobos prevailing over Vivanco in the first case, Burgos handling Villalobos in the second. In the extended finals, Burgos reached his target figure first and defeated Daniel to claim the event title.

Amateur Payouts

1st David Burgos $1,000
2nd Meshak Daniel $750
3rd Rene Villalobos $575
4th Jorge Vivanco $425
5th Kevin Jaikeran $300
Michael Yednak
7th Luis Jimenez $175
Yesib Garibello 
Jose Kuilan
Brian Hunter
13th Juan Guzman $80

Open Payouts
1st Jayson Shaw $800
2nd Ronnie Alcano $500
3rd Jeremy Sossei $300
4th Daniel Dagotdot $200