Shaw Runs First 100: Mika Runs 100! Schmidt Takes a Loss! ANDY Cloth 74th World Tournament of 14.1 Day 1

Action and drama has already begun on Day 1 of pool's oldest championship. Two hundred ball runs were recorded already along with several near 100 ball runs. 
The ANDY CLOTH 74th World Tournament is taking place on August 4th-9th, 2014. Dragon Promotions and Dr. Michael Fedak are pleased to bring the 74th production of the oldest billiard event in the world . Also sponsored by Andy Cloth, Kamui Brands, OB Cues, Amsterdam Billiard Club,, Pool & Billiard Magazine , Aramith Balls, and George Beckman Kinetic Sculptures. Official patron 14.1 aficionados are Stu Mattana, Tom Gleich, Harold Siegel, Dr. Greg Diehl Plastic Surgery, and Official World 14.1 photographer Charles Eames.  A star studded field has made it back once again to the 14.1 extravaganza taking place at Steinway Billiards Cafe, who is once more hosting the world's greatest straight pool championship.
Scotland's Jayson Shaw came out the gate firing with a 100 ball clearance in his first match against North Carolina's Tom Gleich. 
Shaw is looking to improve on his 5th place debut last year. 
"It was beautiful to watch", commented Gleich on the perfect run.
Throwback pro Earl Herring gave new BCA Hall of Famer Mika Immonen a fit with a 100-28 crushing of the former finalist. Herring also is remembered to have given Hohmann his only loss last year en route to his eventual victory.
Immonen however did come right back and schooled Israel's Zion Zvi with a 100 ball run of his own on the TV match.
Another surprise came at the hands of pro newbie Justin Bergman who easily defeated former World 14.1 champ John Schmidt 100- 15.   "I'm really enjoying myself at the World Tournament. It's my first time in New York City", said Bergman, one of the Mosconi USA hopefuls.
Hohmann won his match with a 98 ball run over Charles Eames while Mike Dechaine blanked Dennis Hatch 100-0 with a 97 ball run on the TV table.
Watch online Pay Per View at and order tickets for the 14.1 Hall of Fame Banquet.
Group 1
Jeanette Lee USA 
James Heller   USA
Charles Eames   USA 
Eddie Kwok USA Q
Group 2
Mike Davis USA  
Shaun Wilkie   USA
Tom Karabotsos  USA  Q
Dan Christian USA   Q
Group 3
John Schmidt  USA
Frank Scharbach GER  Q
Joey Landi USA  Q
Group 4
Earl Strickland  USA 
Charlie  Williams   USA
Tony Robles  USA
Bob Madenjian USA  Q
Group 5
Mika Immonen   FIN
Corey Deuel  USA
Zion Zvi ISR
Earl Herring  USA
Jeff Crawford USA Q    
Kevin Clark USA  
Group 6
Van Boening  USA
Jayson Shaw  SCO
Max Eberle  USA
Tom Gleich  USA 
Group 7
Dennis Hatch  USA
Andre Lackner GER   Q
David Daya USA
Dennis Spears USA  Q
Group 8
Ralph Eckert   GER
Danny Barouty   USA
Hunter Lombardo  USA  Q
Jonathan Smith USA  Q
Ed Culhane  USA