Archive Page

Bryan goes undefeated to take season opener of 2018 Viking Cues’ Q City 9-Ball Tour

Adam Bryan


Adam Bryan chalked up back-to-back 6-3 wins in the hot seat match and finals, against different opponents, to complete an undefeated run on the season opener of the 2018 Viking Cues’ Q City 9-Ball Tour. The $250-added event, held on the weekend of January 6-7, drew 37 entrants to Mickey Milligan’s in New Bern, NC.
Bryan advanced to a winners’ side semifinal against Dave Brown, as Richard Limo squared off against Brian Lane in the other one. Bryan defeated Brown 7-5, and in the hot seat match, faced Limo, who’d sent Lane to the loss side 5-3. Bryan claimed the hot seat over Limo in the first of his two straight 6-3 wins, and waited on what turned out to be the return of Lane.
On the loss side, Lane picked up Viking Cues’ Q City 9-Ball veteran J.T. Ringgold, who’d defeated Chris Hiatt 10-3 and Zach Leonard 10-1 to reach him. Brown drew Jason Rogers, who’d eliminated Cody Murphy 8-2 and Kenny Daughtrey 8-6.
Brown and Lane got right back to work, eliminating Rogers and Ringgold; Brown, 7-5 over Rogers and Lane, 5-6 over Ringgold (Ringgold racing to 10). With Brown racing to 7, Lane won the quarterfinal match 5-5.
Lane won his semifinal re-match against Limo 5-2. Bryan completed his undefeated run with a second 6-3 win, this time over Lane, in the finals.
Tour directors Herman and Angela Parker thanked the ownership and staff at Mickey Milligan’s, as well as title sponsor Viking Cues, Delta 13 Racks, AZBilliards and Professor Q Ball.

Smith goes undefeated to take first 2014 GSBT event at Mickey Milligan’s

Shannon Daulton, Greg Smith and Rick Mosiello

Greg Smith returned to the Great Southern Billiard Tour winners' circle with an undefeated run in the tour's first event of 2014. Smith, whose last victory on the tour was in November of 2011 at the same location, had to get by hometown threat, Rick Mosiello (aka Limo), twice to capture the event title. The $1,000-added event drew 37 entrants to Mickey Milligan's Billiards in New Bern, NC.
They met first in the hot seat match, once Smith had sent Zach Wilson to the loss side 9-7 and the 70-something Mosiello had dispatched Josh Heeter 5-1. Smith, who'd come from the loss side in his 2011 win on the tour, got into the hot seat this time with a 9-3 win over Mosiello, and waited on his return.
Over on the loss side, Nolan Leonard and Chris McSorley were waiting for Wilson and Heeter. Leonard, who'd been sent to the loss side by Smith from among the final 16 winners, had defeated Terri Faulk 7-2 and Wayne Haire 7-3. McSorley had gotten by Gary Hill 7-3 and Adam Bryan 7-6 (It was Bryan that Smith had faced and defeated in the finals of the 2011 event). Leonard and McSorley handed Wilson and Heeter their second straight loss, both double hill, and advanced to meet each other in the quarterfinals.
Leonard completed his six-match, loss-side winning streak with a 7-5 win over McSorley, but fell to Mosiello, double hill, in the semifinals. Smith secured the event title by defeating Mosiello a second time in the opening set of the finals 9-4.
Shannon and Marge Daulton thanked Gerry Shepherd and his staff at Mickey Milligan's, along with sponsors Nick Varner Cues & Cases, Delta 13 Racks, Andy Gilbert Custom Cues, Tiger Products, Ozone Billiards and Lomax Custom Cues. The next stop on the GSBT is scheduled for January 11-12 at Shore Thing Billiards in Myrtle Beach, SC.

Smith double dips Bryan to take GSBT stop in New Bern, NC

Adam Bryan, a B player, took advantage of a handicap to gain the hot seat in a battle versus Greg Smith, an A player at a November 26-27 stop on the Great Southern Billiard Tour. Smith, though, returned from the semifinals to defeat him twice and take the event title. The $1,500-added event drew 32 entrants to Mickey Milligan’s Billiards & Pub in New Bern, NC.

From among the winners’ side final four, Smith, in a straight-up race to nine games between two A players, prevailed in a double hill battle against Sidney Champion. Bryan, in the meantime, facing an A player, Larry Faulk, also survived a double hill battle and advanced to the hot seat match with a 7-8 victory. Bryan then convincingly sent Smith to the semifinals with a 7-5 win that left him in the hot seat.

Champion moved to the loss side and picked up Charlie Brinson, who’d gotten by Delton Howard 7-5, and Jason Lawson 7-2. Faulk drew Montez Lloyd, who’d defeated Carlos Cruz 9-2 and Terri Faulk 9-5 to reach him. Brinson shut out Champion to advance to the quarterfinals, and was joined by Faulk, who’d downed Lloyd 9-6. Faulk then handed Brinson a dose of his own shutout medicine, winning 7-0 to face Smith in the semifinals.

In a straight-up race to nine, Smith earned his re-match versus Bryan with a 9-7 win over Faulk. Over the next two games of the true double elimination final, Smith gave up only five racks – two in the opening set and one more in the second – to capture the event title.

Free entries were awarded to Terri Faulk and Jason Lawson for their 7th/8th place finish. Tour directors Shannon and Marge Daulton thanked Gerry Sheperd and the staff at Mickey Milligan’s Billiards & Pub, as well as sponsors Andy Gilbert Custom Cues, Nick Varner Cues and Cases, Mike Davis Exterminating, Tiger Products and Delta-13 racks.