Archive Page

Compton goes undefeated to take final 2014 stop on the Midwest 9-Ball Tour

Chip Compton, Mike Durbin-sponsor and Joey Gray

Kent goes undefeated to capture Ladies' title
By Evelyn Dysart's calculations, Chip Compton and Joey Gray have, over a number of years, battled in the finals of a Midwest 9-Ball Tour event a minimum of 10 times.
"Probably more," she said. "They've been doing it ever since I've been running this tour, and it goes either way. It's not like either one of them has dominated the (series) of matches."
They met in the finals again, during the December 13-14 stop on the tour. They battled, first, for the hot seat and then, at the end, with Compton chalking up the win in both. The $1,900-added Open event drew 40 entrants to Jamaica Joe's in Midwest City, OK. A concurrently-run, $600-added Ladies event drew 13, and was won by Wendy Kent, who took two out of three over runner-up Debbi Aldridge.
After participating in the Open event and finishing just out of the money in the tie for ninth place, Mike Massey conducted a 30-minute, impromptu trick shot exhibition for participants and spectators. 
In the Open event, once Gray had shut out James Walden and Compton had sent Coy Lee Nicholson west 9-7, they met in the battle for the hot seat (which has presumably happened as many times as their meetings in the finals). Compton took that hot seat match 9-4 and waited on Gray's return.
Over on the loss side, Walden picked up K.C. Massey, who'd been responsible for eliminating Mike Massey (not related), and Moe Ali 9-8. Nicholson drew Jacob McMichael, fresh off his 9-5 victory over Marlon Isbell.
Walden and Nicholson got right back to work; Walden surviving a double hill battle against Massey, Nicholson downing McMichael 9-4. Walden took the quarterfinal match 9-7 over Nicholson before himself being eliminated 9-6 by Gray in the semifinals.
Compton and Gray duplicated their hot seat match. Compton chalked up the only set necessary in the finals 9-4 to claim the event title.
In the Ladies event, Wendy Kent's run went through Debbi Aldridge three times; once in the hot seat (7-2) and twice, in the double elimination finals. Aldridge moved to the loss side for a semifinal match against Diana Wolfe, who'd just eliminated Jessica Westbrook 7-5. Aldridge got her second shot at Kent with a 7-3 win over Wolfe, and then won the opening set of the finals, double hill. Kent didn't allow the second set to get that close, completing her title run 7-3.
The next stop on the Midwest 9-Ball Tour, scheduled for February 19, will be a triple tournament – One Pocket, 9-Ball and Ladies 9-Ball – hosted by Shooter's in Olathe, KS.

Anthony Shea Captures First Place at Omega Billiards Tour Season Finale

Anthony Shea, Tony Sulsar and Steve Raynes

On the weekend of December 14-15th, young gun Anthony Shea claimed the top prize on the newly inaugurated Omega Billiards Tour's Season Finale of 2013 at Rusty’s Billiards in Arlington, TX.  Anthony went undefeated to capture the first place prize, making him the youngest winner yet, at a mere 20 years old!    
Over $9,500 was given out in monies and prizes this weekend! (Tourney payouts + prizes + player’s auction.)  Here is how it all went down….
Anthony started off his tournament run with an upset by defeating last month’s tourney winner, Coy Lee Nicholson, 7-7.  Then he defeated Jay Murillo 7-1, TJ Klein 7-2, squeaked by Juan Parra 7-6 to last until Sunday.  Steve Raynes was also on a tear and won his first match against the always formidable Crispian Ng 6-5, then William Howard 6-4, Danny Williams 6-3 and Jeff Georges 6-3 to last til Sunday.  The always tough Tony Sulsar (after a bye) defeated his next three opponents 8-3 to meet Anthony on Sunday morning.  Sky Massingill defeated his 4 opponents 7-4 to meet up with Steve Raynes Sunday morning.
13th-16th places were filled by Charlie Smith, Shannon Modesitt, David De La Garza and William Howard.  HUGE shout out to David (“Spyder”) for capturing his highest finish to date!!  9th-12th place finishers were filled by Juan Parra, Willie Speed, Robert Sifuentes and Mike Nagaki.  7th and 8th place was hard fought and Curtis Cardwell and Dylan Weinheimer would fill those spots, with Jeff Gorges and David Josephson also having a great tournament by finishing 5th/6th.
On the winner’s side on Sunday morning, Anthony Shea would defeat Tony Sulsar 7-4, while Steve Raynes sent Sky Massingill left with a score of 6-4.  Steve and Anthony would battle it out for the hotseat with Anthony coming out on top 7-2.  Sky then defeated David Josephson 7-5 but was stopped by Tour Champion tough Tony Sulsar 8-5.  Tony kept on his winning style by then defeating Steve Raynes hill-hill.  Steve had a fantastic tourney placing his highest finish to date at 3rd place!!
In the finals, it looked like it would be pushed to two sets, as Tony Sulsar was ahead 7-2.  But Anthony kept his composure and kept fighting back until the score was hill-hill.  Anthony broke, and then ran out for the win!  Hill-hill thriller and his FIRST Omega Billiards Tour title!!  
Congratulations to ALL the players for their fine play and great finishes!
Anthony earned $725 plus a beautiful Lucasi Cue for First Place and Tony earned $525 for Second place.  Steve Raynes earned $400 for 3rd place (payouts do not reflect the Player Auction).
This event was the Omega Billiards Tour’s Season Finale with $2,000 added!  At this event, Predator prizes were given out to the top 3 ranked players and Tony Sulsar claimed 1st place and is now the VERY first Omega Billiards Tour Champion!  Tony will get free entry fees into the 2014 Season AND a Predator Sport 4×8 Case, BK Break Cue, and Sport Playing Cue with 314-2 Shaft!  Second place rankings went to Coy Lee who finished this last event in First to propel him to 2nd place!  Coy Lee will get a Predator Sport 4×8 Case and BK Break Cue.  Third place goes to Mike Voelkering who had a stellar year!  He will get a Predator Sport 4×8 Case and 314-2 Shaft!
Fourth through eighth places will each receive a free entry into the 2014 BCAPL Nationals!  Congratulations to 4th place ranked Crispian Ng, 5th/6th ranked Amos Bush and Jesse Hernandez, and 7th/8th ranked players Steve Raynes and Alberto Nieto!
A HUGE thank you to Predator Cues, BCAPL/CSI, and Lucasi and Players Cues.  We would also like to give a big thanks to our additional sponsors, OB Cues, Irving Ink and Thread, Pro Billiard Service, APA of Tarrant County,, and
Tour Director Melinda Bailey would like to thank Rusty’s Billiards and their awesome staff for their great hospitality all weekend!  A big thank you also goes out to Michael Hoang, main sponsor of the Tour and owner of Omega Billiards Supply in Hurst, TX.  Michael and Omega Billiards Supply are well known for the huge booths at many of the large tournaments across the country. 
The 2014 Omega Billiards Tour calendar is already set with 7 stops and a Season Finale.  The first stop will be held at Rusty’s Billiards in Arlington, Texas January, 11-12, 2014!  Each stop is limited to 80 players (an increase from 64) and the monies guaranteed added has increased to $1,500 for each stop!!  Pool is alive and thriving in Texas!! 
The 2014 Schedule is online and payments can be received via the Omega Tour website. 
Thank you to all the players, fans, sponsors and pool rooms!!!