Archive Page

Meglino goes undefeated to win Stop #4 on Sunshine State Pro Am Tour

(l to r): Anthony Meglino & Mike Delawder

In the absence of the Sunshine State Pro Am Tour's winner from its third stop on the tour last month (Donny Mills), and the somewhat quick exit of that stop's runner-up (Steve Richmond), Anthony Meglino and Mike Delawder, who finished third and fourth on that stop, stepped into the void and battled in the finals of Stop #4; a $750-added event held on the weekend of July 15-16 that drew 57 entrants to Uncle Waldo's Billiards in Daytona Beach, FL. Delawder had to win nine on the loss side to get into the finals, but it was Meglino who hung on to go undefeated.
Meglino opened his winners' side campaign against Richmond, whom he'd missed in the latter stages of Stop #3 (Richmond was in the hot seat for that one, and Mills downed Meglino in the semifinals). Meglino defeated Richmond and then went on to victories over Dreama McMahon, co-tour director Bobby Garza, and Bill Mallen, to draw a winners' side semifinal match against Jesus Borjas.  In the other winners' side semifinal, Kenny Willis (aka Jimmy Neutron) faced Brian McBride, who'd won three straight double hill matches to get there.
Both of the battles to get into the hot seat match went double hill. For the first time, McBride ended up on the wrong side of a double hill fight, sending Willis to the hot seat match. Meglino, in the meantime, downed Borjas double hill to join him. Meglino claimed the hot seat over Willis 7-3 and waited for Delawder to finish his loss-side run.
Sent to the loss side by Jeannie Seaver in the second round, Delawder moved west and went to work. He got by Jay Stock, Mark Swisher, Smokey Jacobs, and Chris Gentile, before eliminating the top female finisher, Michell Monk 6-2 and shutting out Bill Mallen, to draw McBride (six down, three to go). Borjas picked up Garza, who'd recently eliminated Jason Lancaster 5-1 and Sam Kantar 5-3.
Delawder chalked up win #7, 6-3 over McBride (McBride's first, non-double hill match all weekend), as Borjas eliminated Garza, double hill. Delawder then defeated Borjas 6-4 in the quarterfinals, and Willis 6-3 in the semifinals.
Meglino and Delawder came within a game of forcing a single deciding game in their final matchup. Meglino pulled ahead to win it by two at 11-9 and claim the event title.
Tour directors Janene Phillips and Bobby Garza thanked the ownership (AJ and Tony Condercuri) and staff at Uncle Waldo's Billiards, as well as sponsors AZBilliards, Billiardbuzz, JQ Image Cues, Jacksonville Roofing, Bill Katchusky (photography) and McDermott Cues.

Brad Hughes takes Winter 8-Ball Jam at Slate Billiards

Alicia DeAbreu, Chris Gordon, Ethan Epstein, Bill Giffen, room co-owner; Brad Hughes & Tom McLoud

Forty-six players filled three division boards Saturday night to compete in the 2013 Flamingo Billiards Tour Open Winter 8-Ball Jam at Slate Billiards in Boynton Beach, Florida. Sponsored in part by Ozone Billiards and Budweiser Black Crown, this $500-added event drew lots of new faces.  At the end of the night, Brad Hughes sank the last eight ball for the win.
Hughes had an uphill fight, after sending Jaran Hilton west then losing to local favorite Sam Kantar. Not to be stopped, Hughes came back on the one-loss side sending home Billy Burke, Joe Beyer and Johnny Aguilar to make it to the final single elimination board. 
Also making the final board: Alicia DeAbreu, Chris Gordon, Tom McCloud, Sam Kantar, Jordan Tavano, Ethan Epstein and Jesus Borjas. The final match pittEd Hughes against McCloud with Hughes finishing the night on top.
This modified double elimination format, race to four, with three divisions allows players in all levels to make the money.  Players initially compete within their own skill level.  The highest finishers in each level redraw into a final single elimination board of eight.  At that point, the matches are handicapped.
Thanks to everyone who came out to play, to room owners Mike Bradford and Bill Giffen, (, Ozone Billiards and Budweiser Black Crown.
Renee Vassallo won the Ozone cue case. Alicia DeAbreu, Lauren Pickard, and Janis Sessions won a paid spot to the Women’s Flamingo Billiards Regional Tour 2014 Kick off Event. 
For more information, visit

Scott Nodell takes TOP GUNS Tournament

League Director Jerry Sotelo; Dean Allen, second; Ed Phillips, winner BB Guns; Scott Nodell, winner

Boynton Beach, FL  (June 29, 2013) – The best of the best came together Saturday to find out just who is the Top Gun in the Palm Beach County this year. Every player was capable of winning this highly contested tournament on any given day, and on Saturday Scott Nodell shot his way to the top. 
The Top Guns tournament invites the top 16 players with the highest average for the past three sessions. The format is a race to three, modified double elimination. This format requires every player to be on top of their game to get to the final single elimination board of four. One missed shot or unforced error can cost these high-level players their match, and that’s exactly what happened to several Top Guns who weren’t on their game that day.
Nodell met up in the title match against rising star Dean Allen, who Nodell sent to the one-loss side earlier in the day. This was Allen’s first year that he qualified for Top Guns and by the end of the night it was clear that he belonged in this event, having shot past the likes of Sam Kantar and last year’s Top Gun Champion Chris Filippelli, both favorites to win the event.  Nodell, a well-known player in this area, had a long path to the finals as well, after being sent west by Greg Deaton, then knocking out Mike Mignacca, Marty Gayler and Al Cashwell along the way. 
Also making it to the final four board – Greg Deaton and Jesus Borjas.  Borjas lost in the semifinals to Allen, and in a revenge match Deaton lost on the hill to Nodell. In addition to the Top Guns bragging rights, Nodell won cash and a stylish crystal Top Guns trophy.
The best of the rest also squared off on Saturday, with newcomer Ed Phillips taking the BB Guns title and crystal trophy. Phillips beat out Dan Moran, who finished a close second.  Ann Hanlon took third.
Thanks to room owners Mike Bradford and Joe Sistarelli at Slate Billiards (, for being great hosts, and to Boynton Billiards for their support of the Palm Beach ACS League.
The Palm Beach ACS League is a nonprofit league in Palm Beach County, Florida. We strive to provide a fair, fun and competitive playing atmosphere for both social players and the most serious players alike. We have league nights Monday through Thursday.
Results – Top Guns
($150 added, modified double elimination)
Scott Nodel   $210
Dean Allen             $100
Greg Deaton           $50
Jesus Borjas              $50
Results – BB Guns
($100 added, modified double elimination)
Ed Phillips            $75
Dan Moran         $50
Ann Hanlon        $25
Some of these events can  be viewed on Ustream or the Palm Beach ACS website. For more information about the Palm Beach County ACS League, visit us at