Archive Page

Mitch Ellerman Wins Diamond Pool Tour Stop

Mitch Ellerman (Photo courtesy of Rick Schmitz)

The Diamond Pool Tour returned to Kolby’s Corner Pocket in Tempe, Az on August 6th – 7th with a field of 46 players playing 8-Ball on the 9 foot tables. It may have taken a little longer than some fans had expected, but this event saw Mitch Ellerman’s first trip to the winner’s circle this season.
The first big surprise in the 15 player “A” bracket was seeing Scott Frost sent to the one loss side in the first round by 8-ball specialist Brian Begay 6-1. Begay then dropped his next match to Emilio Maestes, who then dropped his next match to Bobby Emmons. Emmons’ next match was for the “A” bracket hot-seat against Mitch Ellerman, and you guessed it, he dropped the match. Ellerman’s path to the hot-seat was paved with wins over Ben Hrabina, Brian Reich, George Teyechea and then Emmons. Frost would bounce back from the opening round loss to make day two, but his second match on Sunday was a rematch with Begay, that he dropped hill-hill. Emmons then defeated Begay hill-hill to earn his spot on the final bracket.
The 31 player “B” bracket was led by Junior Flores and Oscar Avila. Avila had wins over Bill McKnight, Todd Dilley, Karloz Chavez and Jack Ritonya on his way to the hot-seat match. Half of those wins were tough hill-hill victories. Flores had wins over Brady Williams, Ryan Franklin, Kurt Siebels and JR Ascension. Flores’ biggest win was 6-4, with three matches going hill-hill. The “B” bracket hot-seat would go to Avila, with a 6-3 scoreline over Flores. The loss to Avila may have lit a fire under Chavez, as he won five straight matches on the left side including a 6-2 win over Flores, to earn his spot on the final bracket. 
When the brackets came together, it was Ellerman taking the final hot-seat with a 6-1 win over Avila. On the left side, Emmons made quick work of Chavez 6-2 and then eliminated Avila 6-1. The finals would go one set, with Emmons scoring a 6-3 win for first place. 
The tournament win adds distance between Ellerman and Frost on the “A” players points list. Ellerman has now built a 155 point lead over Frost, who leads Bret Huth by 45 points for second place. Avila’s 3rd place finish tightens up the “B” player points list. Chavez’s lead over Avila is now 85 points, with Schmitz trailing by 25 points in third place.
Tour organizers thanked Kong Xian Gru and Brian Desantis (and their staff) for hosting another successful event. The wait staff always takes great care of the tour. “Fast” Lenny Marshall shared the event with everyone online and Rick Schmitz once again provided the tour with a batch of great pics. 
The tour will be at Metro Sportz Bar on September 10th – 11th, playing barbox on the 7’ Diamond tables.

The Diamond Pool Tour is proudly sponsored by:
Diamond Billiard Products –
Casino Del Sol Resort –
Neil’s Garage Cabinets –
Greenmail Internet Marketing –
QB Custom Cues –
Volturi Custom Cases –
Cue Sport International –
Aramith Billiard Balls –

Simonis Cloth –
Kamui Tips & Chalk –
Hanshaw Custom Cues –
G-Cue Billiards –
Billiards Press –
Cheqio –

ACUI Announces 2016 9-Ball Championships Competitors

The Association of College Unions International will be hosting its Collegiate 9-Ball Championships, June 10–12 at Arizona State University. The annual competition will bring together 27 men and 10 women competitors from 19 institutions who qualified at preliminary tournaments hosted by ACUI and partnering schools, ranging from Tempe, Ariz. to State College, Pa. The tournament will award scholarships to the top three finishers ($1,000, $500, and $250) in each division and crown the 2016 ACUI Collegiate 9-Ball champions.


Men's Division


Ryan Franklin – Arizona State University
Cameron Boesch – Arizona State University
Christopher Pineres – Florida International University
Michael Landa – Florida International University
Daniel Satinoff – Florida International University
Haiqi Wen – Georgia Institute of Technology
Jay Howell – Georgia Institute of Technology
Eric Huntemann – Lindenwood University
Tanner Nickels – Lindenwood University
Sharik Sayed – Lindenwood University
Brett Snowden – Lindenwood University
Sean Sommers – Lindenwood University
Braxton Coleman – Radford University
Dioblo Smith – Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville
Stephen Wyatt – University of Central Missouri
Ben Keeper – University of Delaware
Steven Strohmier – University of Maryland
Eric Yoo – University of Maryland
Walter Teng – University of Maryland
Giorgi Kverndaze – University of Utah
Ali Irfan – University of Utah
Wilson Dorsey – University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
Neight Mindham – University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
Scott Maloney – University of Wyoming
Logan Hawkins – University of North Carolina – Charlotte
Wilburt Cronin – West Virginia University
Ian Lake – West Virginia University


Women's Division


Brenda Bares – Florida International University
Cristina Perez – Florida International University
Megan Walker – James Madison University
Carly Fristoe – Lindenwood University
Briana Miller – Lindenwood University
Kelly Zahn – Lindenwood University
Taylor Reynolds – Lindenwood University
Kayla Jacobs – University of North Carolina – Pembroke
Jessica Anders – University of Wyoming
Ye Feng – University of Wyoming

For the first time, livestream audio and visual to the championship event will be available. Throughout the weekend, the tournament will be livestreaming in two locations, showcasing both the men’s and women’s matches.  Also, during the event, AZBilliards will be providing live brackets on their site.  
For more information about the event and ACUI’s billiards program, please contact Recreation and Leisure Activities Coordinator Adrena May at or the 9-Ball Director Ben Litvak at