Team Portugal Are the Champions

Portuguese win over Swedes in the team final of the Dynamic European Seniors Championships

Saturday, 13 August 2011: Team Portugal defeated Team Sweden in the final of the Dynamic European Seniors Championships with a clear 3:0 victory.

The final match was not so much a thriller as the earlier matches were. The results were quite obvious in favour of the Portuguese. Henrique Correia (POR) smashed Kent Karlsson (SWE) with 7:3 in the 10-ball encounter. Luis Torres (POR) played Magnus Lindgren (SWE) in 9-ball. Lindgren made too many mistakes and was at no point in time able to put pressure on Torres. The score was already 6:0 for Torres when Lindgren seemed to get going. He managed to win three racks but Torres was simply better than him today. Luis Torres won three more racks and took the match 7:3, also winning the Team encounter with 3:0. At that time, the score in the 8-ball match between Manuel Pereira (POR) and Tom Eksell (SWE) was 3:2 in favour of Pereira.

Final standings:

1. Team Portugal
2. Team Sweden
3. Team Belgium, Team Netherlands
5. Team Germany, Team Switzerland
7. Team Italy, Team Finland

That concludes our coverage from this year's Dynamic European Seniors Championships.

The European Championships were hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website , follow us on twitter @EPBF_News or contact our press office.