Three Cushion Champion Francisco Taylor Ropes A Texas Victory

Francisco Taylor and Megan Smith

It was another successful event this past weekend at Q Stix Billiards in Houston where 56 Open 9-Ball, 9 One Pocket, and 11 Open Ladies 9-Ball competitors battled it out for over 6k in cash which included $1,550 in added money. Players ranged from Nicaraguan three cushion champion Francisco Taylor, Texas State Champion David Gutierrez, and WPBA Touring Professional Megan Smith. Tour champion Charlie “Hillbilly” Bryant, Doug “Waco” Young, James Davis “Jr.”, and Sylver Ochoa were also in attendance. 

Saturday's matches played down and brought back the final 12 Open players on Sunday. Final four winners' side included Francisco Taylor, David Gutierrez, Sylver Ochoa and Megan Smith. The west side saw Ernesto Bayaua v. Brent Thomas and Young v. Bryant. While Bryant cleaned up out west, 5 in a row, Taylor clenched the hot seat over Ochoa 9-3. Gutierrez and Bryant made quick work of it and reached one another. Bryant escaped 7-6 for an all too familiar semi with Ochoa, but was put away 7-1. In the Taylor v. Ochoa final, the Nicaragua  native came on strong and secured his first LSBT win, undefeated, 9-7.
In the One Pocket event it was Bryant over Ochoa for the cat bird's seat and Gutierrez over Alonzo on the one loss side. Gutierrez then took down Ochoa for a shot at first, but fell to Bryant in the final 3-1.  

The ladies' side saw Megan Smith, Ming Ng, Kyu Yi, and others who competed for a chance at the $550 added, $1,080 total purse.  The final two on the winners' side pitted Smith and Yi, while Ng and Rose McCrory dueled on the west side final two. It was Yi over Smith 7-5 while Ng fell to McCrory 5-4.  Smith persevered over McCrory 5-4 in the semis then defeated Yi both sets in the true double elimination format.   
Congratulations to all of our winners and we extend many thanks to our sponsors; Poison Cues, Delta-13 Rack, and James Barnett.  Because of you, POOL PAYS in the great state of Texas. God Bless everyone, and God Bless Texas. 


9-Ball Open
1st $800 Francisco Taylor
2nd $540 Sylver Ochoa
4th $270 David Gutierrez
5th-6th  Megan Smith, Ernesto Bayaua $130 ea.
7th-8th Doug Young, Brent Thomas $90 ea.
9th-12th Jerald Jackson, David Parker, Mike Alonzo, Leon Contreras $55 ea. 

One Pocket
1st  Charlie Bryant $550
2nd Sylver Ochoa $350 

Ladies 9-Ball
1st Megan Smith $315
2nd Kyu Yi $200
3rd Rose McCrory $100
4th Ming Ng $50
5th-6th  Robyn Petrosino, Ricky Casper $25 ea.
7th-8th  Teresa Garland, Loretta Lindgren
9th-11th Kim Nguyen, Deanna Kniola, Jaime Campos