Tournament Heavyweights Dominate Day 1 of Guinness World Series 10-Ball Championship

Dennis Orcullo

14 July 2011 (Jakarta): Dennis Orcollo of the Philippines reinforced his World no. 1 ranking by starting the day displaying impeccable pool skills to earn a lopsided win over Indonesia's Sumaryadi, 6 – 0 to jump start his bid for the 2011 Guinness World Series of Pool 10-Ball Championship. Not to be outdone, a slew of global pool icons followed suit with WPA World 9-Ball Champion Yukio Akagariyama (JPN), 2009 WPA World Ten-Ball Champion Mika Immonen (FIN), 2003 WPA World Nine-Ball Champion Thorsten Hohmann (GER) and 1997 WPA World Nine-Ball Champion Johnny Archer (USA) all trumping their respective opponents to join the Filipino in the winner's circle here at the Mall Taman Anggrek, Jakarta.

Seemingly relaxed and well prepared, Orcollo wasted no time in his match against Sumaryadi. Running out the table whenever he broke and pouncing on countless careless mistakes by the Indonesian, it almost seemed the match was over even before it began. In fact, by the 5th rack, confidence broken and still seemingly unable to find his stroke, Sumaryadi unintentionally conceded by arriving a few minutes late after the mandatory 5th rack timeout which gave away the final rack to the Filipino.

It was a different story though for former World Eight-Ball Champ Ralf Souquet who was under pressure early after losing the opener versus Indonesian Rudy Susanto 4 – 6 before rallying back in the loser's bracket and earn a victory pitted against another local bet Muhammad Rahmansyah 6 – 1 to keep his campaign alive. Having a similar win-loss record for the day was former double world champion Ronato 'The Volcano' Alcano who surprisingly succumbed to Indonesian Muhamad Junarto 2 – 6 and then bagging a win taking on one more local Roy Samosir, 6 – 3.  As it is still in the double elimination round, one more win from the German and Filipino should ensure them slots in the knockout stages.

Not surprisingly, the Taiwanese also had a strong showing today. Silent and efficient, all three proud representatives were able to hurdle their opponents with relative ease. 2007 Guinness 9-Ball Grand Finals Champion Chang Jung-Lin disposed of Indonesian Budi Sumarno, 6 – 1 while Ko Pin-Yi won the battle of nerves against Filipino veteran Warren Kiamco 6 – 5. Completing the hot Taiwanese streak was 2010 WPA Nine-Ball Championship runner up Kuo Po-Cheng who was able to breeze past local bet Irwan Supriyatna, 6 – 1.  

Defending champion Jundel Mazon overcame a slow start to defeat his Indonesian rival Roy Apanco 6 – 4. Down in the opening stages by 1 – 3 and with momentum on the Indonesian's side, Mazon seemed to be in trouble. But once again, luck proved to be a huge factor in the game of pool as a dry break from Apanco in the 7th frame with the score 2 – 4  gave the soft-spoken Pinoy the only window of opportunity he needed to notch four unanswered racks for a thrilling come from behind victory.

Below are highlights from Day 1 action:
Yukio Akagariyama (JPN) def. Lamhot Sinaga (INA) 6 – 1
Mika Immonen (FIN) def. John Salazar (PHI) 6 – 1
Thorsten Hohmann (GER) def. Imran Ibrahim (INA) 6 – 3
Johnny Archer (USA) def. M Bewi Simanjuntak (INA) 6 – 5
Stevie Moore (USA) def. Ari Cahyadi (INA) 6 – 3
Raj Hundal (GBR) def. Riyan Setiawan (INA) 6 – 5
Shane Van Boening (USA) def. Jocksim Patty (INA) 6 – 3

Telecast of the 2011 Guinness World Series of Pool – 10Ball challenge will be carried LIVE on STAR Sports, with fifteen hours of exhilarating competition from July 15 - 17, 2011. Broadcast times are as follows:
Fri, July 15, 2011                     from 18.00-22.30 (HKT)                         Preliminaries
Sat, July 16, 2011                    from 12.00-18.00 (HKT)                         Quarterfinals
Sun, July 17, 2011                   from 11.00-16.00 (HKT)                         Semifinals & Finals
 (TV Schedules subject to change without prior notice)

The 2011 Guinness World Series of Pool – 10Ball Challenge is sanctioned by the Asian Pocket Billiard Union (APBU) and organized by ESPN STAR Sports' Event Management Group (EMG). Guinness is the title sponsor for the Event. The local sanctioning body is the All Indonesian Billiards Association (POBSI). Iwan Simonis and Aramith supply the official tablecloth and official balls respectively. Murray provides the official pool table while Predator is the official cue. Team Sports Marketing Sdn Bhd is the official apparel sponsor.  STAR Sports is the official broadcaster.

Please visit and www.facebook/guinnessindonesia for more information