Trump Named Player Of The Year For Third Time

Judd Trump

Judd Trump has been named snooker’s Player of the Year for the third consecutive time after another prolific season in 2020/21.

Trump won five ranking titles across the campaign: the English Open, Northern Ireland Open, World Grand Prix, German Masters and Gibraltar Open. He was also runner-up in two other events and maintained his position at the top of the world rankings.

The 31-year-old from Bristol was first named Player of the Year in 2019 after winning the Masters and the World Championship, and scooped the award again in 2020 after capturing a record six ranking titles in a single season.

Trump also wins the Fans’ Player of the Year award, voted by fans on the WST App and on social media platforms in China.

Mark Selby won the Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year award, voted by media around the world who cover snooker. Selby won the World Championship for the fourth time and also landed the European Masters and Scottish Open titles, climbing to second in the world rankings.

Leicester’s Selby also won the Performance of the Year award for his tremendous display at the World Championship. He beat Shaun Murphy 18-15 in a superb final at the Crucible.

Magic Moment of the Year went to Neil Robertson for his dramatic 10-9 win over Trump in the UK Championship final. Robertson potted the final pink in a thrilling deciding frame to clinch the title for the third time.

China’s 21-year-old Pang Junxu won Rookie of the Year following an impressive debut season which included runs to the last 16 of three ranking events.

The Snooker Hall of Fame received two additions: Judd Trump and Brandon Parker.

Trump now has 22 ranking titles to his name and has won all three of the sport’s Triple Crown events.

Brandon Parker made a tremendous contribution to snooker for over 20 years, as a manager of players, promoter of events and as a WST director. He was particularly influential in the growth of snooker in Germany and throughout continental Europe. Brandon sadly passed away last year.

WST Awards: 2020/21 winners
Player of the Year – Judd Trump
Fans’ Player of the Year – Judd Trump
Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year – Mark Selby
Performance of the Year – Mark Selby
Rookie of the Year – Pang Junxu
Magic Moment of the Year – Neil Robertson
Hall of Fame: Judd Trump, Brandon Parker

Player of the Year – former winners
2011: John Higgins
2012: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2013: Mark Selby
2014: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2015: Stuart Bingham
2016: John Higgins
2017: Mark Selby
2018: Ronnie O’Sullivan
2019: Judd Trump
2020: Judd Trump
2021: Judd Trump