UWate lays down the Law to Capture Fl State 9-Ball Amateur Title

David Uwate, Tony Crosby, Floyd Millsap

Strokers 2, Tampa was the host location for the Fl State Amateur Championships this weekend.

70 players showed up for this $2500 Added Event, plus a free ($500) entry sponsored by the Seminole Tribe of Florida into the $40,000 Added Mizerak event.

The day kicked off with an award ceremony for the KF Amateur player's point's leaders.

Albert Howe was officially crowned Amateur player of the year and received a $500 bonus plus a High end KF Custom cue and a beautiful trophy supplied by Javier Chirino, a very close second was Mark Wathen who received a high end KF custom cue, 3rd was Mike Delawder also receiving a KF Custom Cue. Taz Naravane in his last year as a junior received Junior player of the year, a special award of Sportsman of the year was given to Angel Rivera who Also Received a high end cue.

The early rounds of the day would see some great matchups with player of the year Albert Howe defeating Jason Richko 7-4 before taking a loss to Cal Mcgann 7-3. Mcgann's  win would be short lived as Howe's road partner Bobby Moore would take revenge with a very strong 7-1 win.  Saturdays 70 players were wittled down to 16 coming back Sunday, 8 winner side and 8 one loss side matches. Local favorite Floyd Milsap went through the winner side to take the hotseat, with wins over, Travis Croft 7-6, Angel Rivera 7-2, Julio Del Pozo 7-3, David Uwate 7-6, Mike Delawder 7-4, Bobby Moore 7-4 and then a final win over Trey Jankowski 7-4.

Laying down the law on the one loss side was David Uwate, After taking his first loss to Floyd Milsap, Uwate would reach Sundays play with a win over Jason Richko.  Sunday would see Uwate come out strong with wins over John Souders 6-1, Chip Dickerson 6-4, Todd Anderson 6-3, Bobby Moore 6-2, Mike Delawder 6-5 and then a final win over Trey Jankowski to get to the final for a rematch with Milsap who had taken him down on Saturday.

The Final would be a single race to 9, the first two racks were shared and at 1-1 Uwate would take control. And never fall behind again. Uwate would take a 6-2 lead, Milsap would win the next two rack to get back to 6-4 and within two racks this would be as close as he would get as Uwate would win 3 of the next 5 racks to take the match 9-6 and be crowned The 2009 FL State 9-ball Amateur Champion which also came with 1st place money of $1100 and a $500 entry into the $40,000 Added Mizerak event to be held in November at the Hard Rock Casino in Hollywood Fl and also the beautiful Fl State Champion Trophy which was provided by Javier Chirino , A touch of glass Trophies.