World Cup qualifier set for Sunday

WITH THE 2011 World Cup of Pool taking place from 6 – 11 September in Manila, there are two spots in the main event up for grabs this Sunday 10th July as 13 pairs of European players battle it out for a trip to represent their country in the Philippines.

The venue is the Sporthotel Alpina in Sankt Johann, Alpendorf, Austria and there are a total of ten different nations competing with two pairs from Belgium and three from Norway. Under the format, only one pair from any one country may take a qualifying spot.

The top ranked playing competing is Estonia's Dennis Grabe, currently No.32 on the Euro Tour rankings, and he pairs up with compatriot Erki Erm in a bid for World Cup glory.

Other notables in the field include Belgium's Noel Bruynooghe, who along with Serge Das, reached the quarter-finals of the World Cup of Pool in 2007. He partners Olivier Mortier this time round.

The main event in Manila features 32 two-man teams competing in a straight knock-out scotch doubles format for a $250,000 prize fund. It is televised live in its entirety on Solar Sports in the Philippines and distributed as 31 x 1 hour programmes by Matchroom Sport.

The qualifying tournament is organised by the EPBF who will be producing live scoring and a live stream on ten tables. This is available on on the 'Qualifier World Cup of Pool 2011' button. World Cup of Pool Qualifier – the Teams

1.         Belgium I                     Noel Bruynooghe / Olivier Mortier
2.         Belgium II                    Moritz Lauwerijs / Karl Laverge
3.         Denmark                    Bahram Lotfy / Martin Larsen
4.         Estonia                       Dennis Grabe / Erki Erm
5.         Hungary                      Gabor Solimosy / Miko Balasz
6.         Ireland                         Paddy McLoughlin / Jason Power
7.         Scotland                     Jayson ShawJonni Fulcher
8.         Macedonia                  Zivko Mihajlovski / Trajce Donchevski
9.         Norway I                     Kristoffer Mindreboe / Mats Schjetne
10.       Norway II                    Joakim Haugen / Mattey Ullah
11.       Norway III                    Tron Engebak / Espen Saltnes
12.       Slovenia                      Josko Marinko / Matjaz Erculj
13.       Switzerland                Dmitri Jungo / Ronni Regli