World Wheelchair Championship Final Eight

Just as the Derby City Classic concludes, the Horseshoe Hotel and Casino in Elizabeth, Indiana is the host this weekend for the WPA World Wheelchair Championship.

Sunday saw the field narrowed down to eight players who will compete on Monday in a single elimination bracket.

Advancing undefeated were four players; Nick West (USA), Kurt Deklerck (Belgium), Jouni Tähti (Finland) and Matt Duffy (Great Britain).

Four players also advance from the one loss side and each of those players have drawn an undefeated opponent for Monday.

West will face #4 seeded Henrik Larsson from Sweden. Larsson was the 2003 and 2007 World Champion.

#5 seeded Deklerck will play Tony Southern from Great Britain. Deklerck was the runner up to Larsson in 2007.

Tähti will play John Reynolds from the USA. Tähti won this event in 2002 and finished third in 2008.

Finally, Duffy will play #1 seed Charlie Hans from the USA. Hans was the runner-up to Aaron Aragon at this event last year. Aragon did not compete this year.

The players are competing for medals as well as prizes and cash. First place will receive $1900 in cash, while second settles for $1100. Third and fourth will take home $750 and all four top finishers will receive custom engraved Viking Cues.

This event is sponsored by The Paralyzed Veterans of America, Viking cues, Simonis Cloth, Predator products, Poison Billiards and The BCA.