WPA World 9-Ball Championship for Wheelchair Players

Public Invited To Watch

The National Wheelchair Poolplayers Association, Inc. (NWPA), in cooperation with the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) and the Billiard Congress of America, will host the WPA World 9-Ball Championship for Wheelchair Players at the Horseshoe Casino of Southern Indiana in Elizabeth, Indiana from January 31 – February 1, 2010.  This premier event will be held immediately following the Professional/Amateur events of the 2010 Derby City Classic, hosted by Diamond Billiard Products of Jeffersonville, Indiana, on January 22 – 30, 2010.  The tables and tournament space of this world championship event are being provided courtesy of Diamond Billiards Products.

 The WPA World 9-Ball Championship for Wheelchair Players is an invitation-only event for the top wheelchair pool players from around the world.  Players were invited play by their respective country's pool federation.  The NWPA selected players from compete on behalf of the United States based on national player rankings and life-time tournament achievements.   Gold, Silver and Bronze medals will be awarded to the top 4 players along with cash and other prizes.  All tournament play will be held on 9-foot Diamond Smart tables. 

The public is invited to come watch world class 9-Ball action for the best wheelchair players in the world.  The current reigning world champion, Aaron Aragon, who is America's premier player, is expected be in attendance to defend his title.  Also, competing will be the other 3 medalists from the 2008 World Championship: Charlie Hans, Silver Medal, Fred Dinsmore, Bronze Medal and Jouni Tahiti, Bronze Medalist. Both Dinsmore and Tahiti are also former world champions.  In all, the tournament will have a total of 5 world champions (current and former) in the competitive field. Currently, players who have committed to compete will be representing the countries of Belgium, Finland, Germany, Great Britain, Ireland, Norway, Sweden, and the United States.

 First round action in this tournament play will begin on January 31, 2010 at 9:00 am and play will continue through the rest of the preliminary rounds until 9:00 pm.  Matches will resume on February 1st at 9:00 am with just 12 players remaining.  Bronze Medal matches for the final 4 players will begin at approximately 2:30 pm that day.  The two winners of these semi-final matches will advance to the world championship match, which will start at approximately 5:30 pm.   The winner will take home the Gold Medal and the runner-up with receive the Silver Medal.

 The Tournament Coordinator for the WPA World Wheelchair 9-Ball Championship is Jeffrey Dolezal, President of the NWPA. 

 This tournament is an official World Pool-Billiard Association World Championship event.  The WPA is the worldwide governing body for pool and billiards and it worked in cooperation with the Billiard Congress of America and the National Wheelchair Poolplayers Association to bring this event to the United States. 

This event is being supported in sponsorship by Diamond Billiards, Paralyzed Veterans of America, Viking Cue Manufacturing, Simonis Cloth, Predator Products and Poison Billiards.

Jeffrey Dolezal

NWPA President

(703) 817-1215