WPC Final Eight

After seven days of play, the 2005 Kaohsiung World Pool Championship, is down to just eight men as the last 16 completed in the southern Taiwanese city on Friday evening.

Of the eight players contesting the quarter-finals, there are three from Taiwan and one each from the Philippines, USA, Finland, Germany and Holland.

All remaining competitors are guaranteed $10,000 each before the money increases substantially.

Play starts at 17.00 local time and the matches are:

Po-cheng Kuo (Tpe) v Kun-chang Huang (Tpe)
Rodney Morris (USA) v Nick van den Berg (Ned)

Chia-ching Wu (Tpe) v Thorsten Hohmann (GER)
Marlon Manalo (Phi) v Mika Immonen (Fin)

Last 16 Matches

Po-cheng Kuo (Tpe) 11 - 4 Roman Hybler (Cze)
Kun-chang Huang (Tpe) 11 - 4 Thanh Nam Nguyen (Vtm)

Rodney Morris (USA) 11 - 8 Jung-ling Chang (Tpe) v
Nick van den Berg (Ned) 11 - 10 Vilmos Foldes (Hun) v

Chia-ching Wu (Tpe) 11 - 4 Marcus Chamat (Swe) v
Thorsten Hohmann (GER) 11 - 7 Jeremy Jones (USA)

Marlon Manalo (Phi) 11 - 0 Ying-chieh Chen (Tpe) v
Mika Immonen (Fin) 11- 8 Cory Deuel (USA)

For complete bracket coverage of this event, go to http://www.worldpoolchampionship.com/. For complete coverage of this event, check out the September issue of Billiards Digest magazine.