2006 Philippines World Pool Championship Groups Announced

2006 Philippines World Pool Championship Groups Announced

128 of the finest pool players from around the world will gather at the Philippine International Convention Center in Metro Manila on Saturday 4th November to contest the most anticipated billiards event of the year - the World Pool Championship.

With a record prize fund of $400,000 and an unprecedented 60-plus hours of live TV over the nine days of the event, the Philippines World Pool Championship promises to be deliver its customary high-octane mix of drama, excitement and tension.

Promoters Matchroom Sport can announce the 32 x four-man groups to contest the opening stages of the competition.

Each group is headed by one of 32 seeded players, with defending champion Wu Chia-ching taking the top spot of No.1 seed.

The second player in each group comes from a second group of 32 seeded players although these players were not placed in any order of merit and were drawn randomly.

The final two players were drawn randomly from geographical-based draw bags.

Group 1
Wu Chia-ching (TPE)
Chang Keng-kwang (SIN)
Harold Rousseau (CAN)
Sven Pauritsch (GER)

Group 2
Efren Reyes (PHI)
Radoslaw Babica (POL)
Roy Apancho (INA)
Tony Crosby (USA)

Group 3
Thorsten Hohmann (GER)
Edwin Montal (CAN)
Qualifier 9
Andy Worthington (ENG)

Group 4
Alex Pagulayan (PHI)
Li He-wen (CHN)
Lee Kun-fang (TPE)
Gustavo Espinosa (ARG)

Group 5
Marlon Manalo (PHI)
Mike Davis (USA)
Fu Che-wei (TPE)
Nicolas Guimond (CAN)

Group 6
Kuo Po-cheng (TPE)
Ernesto Dominguez (MEX)
Dharminder Singh Lily (IND)
Roger Lysholm (Nor)

Group 7
Ralf Souquet (GER)
Chang Jung-ling (TPE)
Qualifier 10

Group 8
Johnny Archer (USA)
Huang Kun-chang (TPE)
Xu Meng (CHN)
Gregorio Sanchez (VEN)

Group 9
Thomas Engert (GER)
Stuart Lawler (AUS)
Qualifier 4
Philipp Stojanovic (CRO)

Group 10
Francisco Bustamante (PHI)
Darren Appleton (ENG)
Prince Haji Billah (BRU)
Charles Bryant (USA)

Group 11
Mika Immonen (FIN)
David Alcaide (ESP)
Qualifier 6
Marco Tschudi (SUI)

Group 12
Rodney Morris (USA)
Enrique Rojas (CHI)
Qualifier 7
Jorn Kaplan (GER)

Group 13
Marcus Chamat (SWE)
Jeong Young-hwa (KOR)
Roland Garcia (PHI)
Benjamine Belhassen (FRA)

Group 14
Yang Ching-shun (TPE)
Raj Hundal (ENG)
Mohammed Zulfikri (INA)
Tyler Edey (CAN)

Group 15
Nick van den Berg (NED)
Sandor Tot (SCG)
Gandy Valle (PHI)
Fahad Mohammaddi (QAT)

Group 16
Dennis Orcollo (PHI)
Thanh Nam Nguyen (VIE)
Steve Davis (ENG)
Dave Reljic (AUS)

Group 17
Earl Strickland (USA)
Chen Ying-chieh (TPE)
Manan Chandra (IND)
Vincent Facquet (FRA)

Group 18
Niels Feijen (NED)
Takeshi Okumura (JAP)
Ryu Seong-woo (KOR)
Michael Schmidt (GER)

Group 19
Chao Fong-pang (TPE)
Roman Hybler (CZE)
Bernard Tey Choon Kiat (SIN)
Huidji See (NED)

Group 20
Imran Majid (ENG)
Patrick Ooi Fook Yuen (MAS)
Wang Hung-hsiang (TPE)
Evangelos Vettas (GRE)

Group 21
Oliver Ortmann (GER)
Rodolfo Luat (PHI)
Fu Jian-bo (CHN)
David Larsson (SWE)

Group 22
Corey Deuel ( USA)
Masaki Tanaka (JAP)
Qualifier 1
John Wims (IRE)

Group 23
Jose Parica (PHI)
Shawn Putnam (USA)
Ricky Yang (INA)
Pat Holtz (SCO)

Group 24
Jeremy Jones (USA)
Tony Drago (MAL)
Liu Cheng-chuan (TPE)
Ceri Worts (NZL)

Group 25
Alex Lely (NED)
Gabe Owen (USA)
Qualifier 2
Lou Condo (AUS)

Group 26
Chang Pei-wei (TPE)
Andreas Roschkowsky (GER)
Ibrahim bin Amir (MAS)
Alejandro Carvajal (CHI)

Group 27
Vilmos Foldes (HUN)
Toh Lian-han (SIN)
Qualifier 5
Africa 1

Group 28
Christian Reimering (GER)
Ronato Alcano (PHI)
Luong Chi Dung (VIE)
Marcel Martens (NED)

Group 29
Kunihiko Takahashi (JAP)
Kevin Uzzell (ENG)
Jeff de Luna (PHI)
Chris Calabrese (AUS)

Group 30
Fabio Petroni (ITA)
Charlie Williams (USA)
Qualifier 3
Apsi Taniago (INA)

Group 31
Markus Juva (FIN)
Konstantin Stepanov (RUS)
Qualifier 8
Africa 2

Group 32
Daryl Peach (ENG)
Ramil Gallego (PHI)
Tepwin Arunnath (THA)
Robb Saez (USA)