2012 Mosconi Cup – Melling back to No.1 position

Chris Melling

Chris Melling, who finished atop of the 2011 European Mosconi Cup rankings, is at it again, as his semi-final finish at last week's World 8 Ball Championship saw him move to the top of the pile as the race for 2012 Mosconi Cup spots takes off.
After two events the Yorkshireman leads England's Mark Gray by four points and is 11 points ahead of Oliver Ortmann of Germany in third spot. Melling made his Mosconi debut in Las Vegas last December and looked outstanding as he helped his side to a convincing 11-7 win.
"It's great to be back up to No. 1 on the list as I had the best experience ever in Vegas. It's hard to explain the pressures involved until you have played in it but I definitely want more of it," said Melling.
"I've started the year well and hopefully I can stay there as I'm playing well and I'm confident - you just need a bit of luck to go with it. Hopefully I'll be at York Hall and battling it out again with the Americans in December. That's my goal!"
Melling, who heads to the next qualifying event on March 1st – the Bosnia Open in Sarajevo, also revealed that he and his business partner have just started up a company to promote younger players who are less fortunate.
"It was something that I never had and I coach them and try to help them improve," he said.
The European Mosconi Cup Ranking consists of 11 events – six Euro Tour events and five 'World' events. The 'World' events will carry approximately 50% more points due to the international strength of the field.
Only players finishing in the last 32 of each event will be allocated points and at the conclusion, after the 2012 US Open, the top two players will automatically gain entry to the Mosconi Cup side.
The remaining three players will be Matchroom Sport wildcard picks although the ranking will play a part in this.
The Ranking
1. Chris Melling (GBR)                       29
2. Mark Gray (GBR)                            25
3. Oliver Ortmann (GER)                    18
4. Nick Van Den Berg (NED)               17
T5. Karol Skowerski (POL)                   16
T5. David Alcaide (ESP)                       16
7. Huidji See (NED)                             15
8. Darren Appleton (GBR)                   12
T9. Mika Immonen (FIN)                     10
T9. Thorsten Hohmann (GER)             10
T11. Mario He (AUT)                          9
T11. Noel Bruynooghe (BEL)               9
T11. Radoslaw Babica (POL)               9
T14. Imran Majid (GBR)                     8
T14. Serge Das (BEL)                          8