70th Annual ACUI Collegiate Championship Winners Crowned

July 22, 2010 (Ann Arbor, MI.) — The Association of College Unions International (ACUI) Collegiate 9-Ball Championships took place July 16-17 at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, MI. Fifty-one students representing 37 colleges, universities, and two-year institutions qualified at either the regional competition or at one of two ACUI-sanctioned independent qualifying events for this prestigious championship.

Purdue University's Lindsey Dorn was the Women's champion, while Raymond Linares of Miami Dade College- Kendall Campus took home the Men's title.

Dorn ran undefeated and virtually unchallenged in the Race-to-7 True Double Elimination event. None of her opponents won more than 3 games. She took home the trophy and a $1,000 ACUI scholarship with decisive victories over Bonnie Ignacki (Virginia Tech), Samantha Adler (University of Delaware), Michelle Yim (University of Houston), Delia Mocanu (New Mexico Institute of Mining & Technology), Cynthia Higa (University of Hawaii-Manoa), and needed only a single set in the Finals over Mocanu to gain the crown.

Linares lost his first match in the Race-to-8 contest before winning ten consecutive matches to snatch the Men's title. Raymond fell to Mitchell Trainham (Virginia Commonwealth University) in a hill-hill battle, then ousted Hamilton Yim (University of Maryland-Baltimore County), Wes Puse (Ohio University), Kevin Duong (San Francisco State University), John Martinovich (Moraine Valley Community College), Jonathan Strzezewski (Wilbur Wright College), Trainham, and Adam Ausperk (Kent State University) to face 4-year veteran Tommy Najar (New Mexico State University), who marched ably through the Winners' side of the chart, in the Finals. Linares defeated Najar in two sets, both by scores of 8-6, to take home the trophy and a $1,000 ACUI scholarship.

Sportsmanship is honored at the ACUI event by peer vote. Michelle Yim (University of Houston) and Kevin Duong (San Francisco State University) took home these trophies. ACUI also holds a Best Break Competition during the event; the winners were Bonnie Ignacki (Virginia Tech) and Charles Crouch (University of Houston). This is Crouch's second ACUI Best Break title in three years.

Mike Makoski, ACUI's volunteer Recreation and Leisure Activities Program team leader from the Fitchburg State College, views this tournament as “the premiere intercollegiate cue sport tournament in the world. Past ACUI champions include Nick Varner and Max Eberle, who are now top players on the professional circuit.”

“Student learning and community building are at our core as an organization,” said ACUI Executive Director Marsha Herman-Betzen. “These billiards tournaments are among our most historic competitive events, and we are proud to continue that tradition as the sport grows.”ACUI hosted the first intercollegiate billiards championship in 1937; since then there have been only four years in which no tournament was held, due to wartime conflicts. The site for the 2010 ACUI 9-Ball Championship, the University of Michigan, served as the host venue for the multiday tournament, the awards banquet, and player dining. The city of Ann Arbor accommodated players and their families for meals and hotel rooms. If you would like more information about how to compete in or host this event in future, contact Michelle Smith at mjsmith1@acui.org or visit the ACUI website, http://www.acui.org/billiards/.

ACUI wishes to express sincere thanks to its primary sponsor, Simonis Cloth.