Abbink earns Florida State Championship

The Florida State Ladies Championship was held on Saturday December 5th at Capone's Billiards in Spring Hill, Florida with a field of twenty four ladies competing for the prestigous title. Notables in the field of players included Megan Smith, Jeannie Seaver, Stephanie Mitchell, Michell Monk, Joanne Mason Parker and eventual winner Rachael Abbink.

Early favorite Megan Smith was looking strong in the event with three dominating wins early. Smith beat Bethanne Ryno, Rachel Byrket and Sandra Hamor by a combined scored of 21-5. The Smith freight train ran into problems in round four though, as Abbink sent Smith packing to the left side of the board 7-6. That left only Niki Rasmussen as an obstacle between Abbink and the hot-seat. That obstacle didn't stand before Abbink long though, as Rachael scored a quick 7-0 win.

On the one loss side, Rasmussen eliminated Vanessa Seaver 5-2 to earn another shot at Abbink in the finals. Unfortunately for Rasmussen, the finals would not turn out much better than the first meeting between these two players as Abbink cruised to a 7-2 win and the State Title.

The event was the final event expected to be held by Ladies Spirit Tour Founders Heather Barkley and Bonnie Coats. Both ladies wanted to send warm thanks to all of the players, as well as Capone's owner Rocky McElroy and Javier Chirino with Chirino Touch of Glass who made the beautiful trophy for the winner of this event.